Quicklinks: IBPS | Top Searches | Hindi News | SBI Clerk | CAT 2014 | IBPS RRB | Govt Jobs | MAT | Mobile Apps

Jagran Josh Logo


General Knowledge for Competitive Exams
Read: General Knowledge | General Knowledge Lists | Overview of India | Countries of World

Uttarakhand: Largest Districts by Population as per Census 2011

Following table represents the Largest Districts of Uttarakhand by Population as per Census 2011. 


Natural Resources: Fisheries

Fisheries contribute considerably to food, economic & employment securities, nutrition & opportunely are one of the fastest growing agricultural sub - sectors since last three decades.

Natural Resources: Land and Soil

The biological productivity of the World, meeting our energy, food & other requirements, depends on health of soil, especially its nutrient, water & carbon balance.

Twelfth Five-Year Plan (2012–2017)

Twelfth five year plan started in 2012 and will run till the year 2017. The Twelfth plan seeks to attain annual average economic growth rate of 8.2 %, down from 9 % foreseen earlier, in view of flimsy global recuperation.

Eleventh Five-Year Plan (2007–2012)

Eleventh Five Year Plan manifested empowerment through education and skill development. It also laid emphasis to elevate the sex ratio for age group 0 to 6 years.

Ninth Five-Year Plan (1997–2002)

The main aim of Ninth Five Year Plan was attainment of objectives like human development, speedy industrialization, full - scale employment, self - reliance on domestic resources and poverty reduction.

Eighth Five-Year Plan (1992–1997)

Modernization of industries was a major highlight of the Eighth Five Year Plan. Under this plan, the steady opening of Indian economy was embarked to correct the mushrooming deficit & foreign debt.

Seventh Five-Year Plan (1985–1990)

Seventh Plan manifested the retort of Congress Party to power. The Seventh Five Year plan laid impetus on improving the efficiency level of industries by advancement of technology.

Sixth Five-Year Plan (1980–1985)

The sixth plan also manifested the commencement of economic liberalization. Indira Gandhi was prime minister of India during this period.

Fourth Five-Year Plan (1969–1974)

When Fourth Five Year Plan was implemented, Indira Gandhi was the Prime Minister of India. Green Revolution in India developed and advanced agriculture.

Fifth Five-Year Plan (1974–1979)

In the Fifth Five Year Plan, Impetus was laid on poverty alleviation, justice and employment.

Third Five-Year Plan (1961–1966)

The Third 5 year Plan focused on agriculture & enhancement in the production of wheat, but the succinct Sino - Indian War in the year 1962 exposed flaws in the economy & shifted the spotlight towards the Defence industry.

Second Five-Year Plan (1956–1961)

The second five-year plan laid emphasis on industry, particularly heavy industry. Distinct from the First five year plan that laid impetus primarily on agriculture, the domestic production of industrial products was supported in the 2nd plan, chiefly in the development of public sector.


Jagranjosh.com presents the terms and terminology of various terms that hold special significance in the field of Economics.


Jagranjosh.com presents the terms and terminology of various terms that hold special significance in the field of Economics.

Technological Achievement Index

Technology Achievement Index is used to compute how well a country is generating & diffusing technology & structuring a human skill base.

Multidimensional Poverty Index

Multidimensional Poverty Index was started in the year 2010 by Oxford Poverty and Human Development scheme & UNDP.

Gender Inequality Index

Gender Inequality Index is a new index for determination of gender disparity that was pioneered in the 2010 HDI Report 20th anniversary edition by UNDP.

Human Development Index

The Human Development Index is an amalgamated statistics of education, income indices and life expectancy to rank countries into four tiers of human development.

Growth and Development

To grow is to augment in number or size and to develop is to amplify one’s ability & craving to convince one’s own needs & legitimate requirements & those of others.

First Five-Year Plan

Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Indian Prime Minister presented the first five-year plan to the Parliament of India on 8th December 1951.

Naxalism and its Causes

The term Naxal traces its origin to the name of the village Naxalbari in West Bengal.

Ranks in the Indian Coast Guard

Here you can find the ranking in the Indian Coast Guard. Director General is the senior most rank.

Indian Army: Structure

Indian army is an important institution in India. Most of the competitive exams test the knowledge of exam aspirants on the setup of Indian army.

Election Commission of India

Article 324 in the constitution of India 1949 states that the Superintendence, direction and control of elections to be vested in an Election Commission.

Table of Precedence in India

The Order of precedence is the protocol list in which the officials and functionaries are listed as per their rank and office in the Government of India.

Dams of Uttarakhand: Salient Features (Set-3)

A dam is a barrier that confiscates water or underground streams. Some of the dams of Uttarakhand are listed in the article.

Dams of Uttarakhand: Salient Features (Set-2)

The list shows the Salient Features of Dams of Uttarakhand. Water management without resources dilapidation is vital to meet food and fiber requirement of India’s ever escalating population.

Dams of Uttarakhand: Salient Features (Set-1)

A dam can be used to amass water or for storage of water which can be consistently distributed between locations. Some of the dams of Uttarakhand are mentioned in the article.

Uttarakhand: Largest Districts by Population as per Census 2011

Following table represents the Largest Districts of Uttarakhand by Population as per Census 2011. 

Uttarakhand: Analysis of Districts as per census 2011

Following table represents the analysis of districts of Uttarakhand as per Census 2011.

Register to receive latest updates for FREE!

All Fields Mandatory
Please Select Your Interest
By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use