Jagran Josh Logo

General Knowledge for Competitive Exams
Read: General Knowledge | General Knowledge Lists | Overview of India | Countries of World

West Bengal

Governor : Shri MK Narayanan

Chief Minister : Mamata Banerjee

Capital: Kolkata

Legislature: Unicameral

Lok Sabha seats: 42

Judicature: Kolkata High Court

Languages: Bengali

Population density: 904/sq km

No. of districts: 19

Main crops: Rice, wheat, maize, barley, gram, peas, jute, tea, pan leaf, oilseeds, tobacco, sugarcane

Rivers: Hooghly, Ganga, Bhagirathi, Mayurakshi, Damodar

Minerals: Coal and petroleum

Industries: Engineering goods, automobiles, chemicals, cotton, jute, tea, paper fisheries

Airports: Calcutta and Bagdorga


Stretching from the Himalayas in the north to the Bay of Bengal in the south, West Bengal is primarily composed of plain land, except the north where the southern flank of the Himalayas extends into the state. Part of the Ganga- Brahmaputra delta constitutes the eastern part of West Bengal. From the northern highlands to the tropical forests of Sunderbans, variations in altitude result in great variety in nature and climate.



The state gets its name from the ancient kingdom of Vanga, or Banga. Around 3 BC, it formed part of the extensive Mauryan Empire. The region was then taken over into the Gupta Empire and later came under the rule of the Pala dynasty. From the 13th to the 18th centuries Bengal was under Muslim rule, and came under British control following Robert Clive’s conquest over the region in 1757. In 1773, Warren Hastings, the governor of Bengal, became the first Governor General of Bengal with powers over the Madras and Bombay Presidencies as well. In 1905, Bengal was partitioned into two provinces in spite of violent protests. Continued opposition to the partition led to the reunification of the state in 1911. At the time of independence, the eastern part of Bengal became East Pakistan (later Bangladesh) and the western part became the Indian state of West Bengal. The princely state of Cooch Behar was integrated with West Bengal in 1950. The state also gained some territory from Bihar after the reorganization of Indian states in 1956.


1905 – Bengal was Partitioned into two provinces.

1911 – Reunion of Bengal 1947 – Merger of native settlement began

1956- Bengali speaking areas were transferred to West Bengal.

Previous Story
Jennifer Figge
Next Story
Jaswant Singh

By:sk mehedi islam | On:21-MAR-2015 11:05:25

now no of dist 20 of wb..pls update

By:gopal sarkar | On:04-NOV-2014 08:42:01

Name of governor be changed. Minerals : petrolium be removed. cottage. Industry be added.

By:CHANDRA KANTA JANA | On:11-OCT-2014 13:42:39

Now no. of district in West Bengal- 20

By:Ankit kumar | On:08-OCT-2014 21:33:36

I needs some important coptetive questions related to west bangal..

By:clerk | On:07-SEP-2014 22:50:57

Vill-panapukur,po-bhangar-ps-kashipur ,dist-south 24 parganas, pin-743502

Register to get FREE updates

Please Select Your Interest
By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use