How to Become an Income Tax Inspector, know Eligibility Criteria and Selection Process

How to Become an Income Tax Inspector,  Get detailed Eligibility Criteria, Examination Pattern, Syllabus, and Selection Process.

Created On: Nov 3, 2017 14:45 IST
How to Become an Income Tax Inspector
How to Become an Income Tax Inspector

Government Jobs have become preferred career option for majority of youth today, right after completing their graduation, they start searching for government jobs as per their skill set or preferences. 

Aspirants need to be aware about the eligibility criteria, recruitment process, examination pattern and other details such as physical fitness and medical fitness requirements and should work towards fulfilling the minimum requirements to be eligible to apply for the post.  We are going to elaborately describe the entire equipment process including examination pattern and other details here. 

Here we are going to discuss Government Jobs as Income Tax Inspector, it is one of the most preferred Govt job after Defence and Paramilitary Jobs. Youths inspired by the movies, which often depict characters raiding the premises of possible tax defaulters in heroic fashion might get a false image of the profession. An income tax Inspector is usually posted in Assessment Section or Non Assessment Section. In Assessment section the job is ondesk dealing with auditing and handling issues such as tax refund TDS etc. Where as in Non Assessment Section their job includes intel and evidence gathering on possible defaulters by conducting rails with field teams.

Duties of Income Tax Inspector includes assessment of tax returns and reporting possible discrepancies in the returns filed by the individual/companies etc. Income Tax Inspectors are part of Department of Income Tax, which functions under the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), which is a statutory authority which deals with matters relating to levy and collection of direct taxes.

SSC, the authorised body for recruitment of Grade C and B Inspectors conducts SSC CGL examination for recruitment of Income Tax Inspector, as Department of Income Tax falls under the central government.

Eligibility Criteria for SSC CGL Examination

The minimum education requirement for the SSC CGL is Graduation in any discipline.

The age limit for applying for the posts of Income Tax Inspector through SSC CGL is 21 to 27 Years.  In the SSC CGL Examination, candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste / Scheduled Tribes (SC / ST) category are given age relaxation which is 10 years, for OBC candidates 3 years and PWD class candidates the age relaxation is 10 years.

Candidate should also fulfill the minimum required physical stature and Physical fitness requirements.

Male Candidates:

Physical Standards:

  • Height - 157.5 cms.
  • Chest - 81 cms. (Fully expanded with a minimum expansion of 5 cms.)

Physical Test:

  • Walking: 1600 metres in 15 minutes.
  • Cycling:  candidates will be required to cycle 8 Kms in 30 minutes.

Female Candidates:

Physical standards (Minimum):

  • Height - 152 cms.
  • Weight - 48 Kgs.

Physical Test:

  • Walking: candidates will be required to walk 1 Km. in 20 minutes.
  • Cycling: candidates will be required to cycle 3 Kms. in 25 minutes.

Selection Procedure for Income Tax Inspector through SSC CGL

Selection procedure for Income tax Inspector includes Two phase Examination as part of SSC CGL and Interview followed by Physical Standard/Physical Fitness and Medical Tests.

SSC CGL is divided into four phases.

Tier -I -- Online Examination (Objective Multiple Choice Type)

Tier -II -- Online Examination (Objective Multiple Choice Type)

Tier -III --Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (writing of Essay/Precis/Letter /Application Writing)

Tier -IV -- Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test (wherever applicable)/ Document Verification

In SSC CGL Tier I Examination candidates are subjected to question from General Intelligence &General Awareness and Arithmetic, each paper is of 100 questions with weightage of 100 marks each duration of examination is 2 hours.


Number of Questions



General Intelligence and General Awareness (Part A)



2 Hours

Arithmetic (Part B)



2 hours

Candidates who pass in the SSC CGL Tier I Examination, have to take SSC CGL Tier II Examination  marks of SSC CGL Tier I Examination are not included in the final scores. In SSC CGL Tier II Examination,  4 papers are conducted,  where paper I and Paper II are held on same day.

SSC CGL Tier II Examination Pattern




General Studies


3 Hours



2 Hours 20 Minutes



4 Hours



2 Hours 40 Minutes

Communication Skill and Writing


2 Hours 20 Minutes

Candidates who qualify in the SSC CGL Tier II examinations are called for Interview and Mental Ability Test, before Physical and Medical test. SSC CGL Tier III and IV Examination are not applicable for Income tax Inspector posts.

We hope , aspirants have sufficient information regarding the eligibility selection procedure , examination pattern and other requirements for Income Tax Inspector, therefore we conclude this article here. For regular updates on the SSC CGL Examination and SSC CGL Study material, keep in touch with Jagranjosh.

Related Categories

Comment (1)

Post Comment

6 + 0 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.
  • VAISHNVIJun 27, 2021