Jagran Josh Logo
  1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule
  4.  |  
  5. Awards | Honours

2018 Pulitzer Prize winners announced

Apr 17, 2018
This year, Reuters won the Pulitzer Prize in two categories- one is ‘International Reporting’ for coverage of Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte’s war on drugs and other in the ‘Feature Photography’ category for coverage of the Rohingya crisis.

Dharmendra to be conferred Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement award

Apr 16, 2018
Veteran Bollywood actor Dharmendra will be conferred with the prestigious Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement award and filmmaker Rajkumar Hirani will be conferred with the Raj Kapoor Special Contribution award.

65th National Film Awards announced

Apr 13, 2018
Amit V Masurkar's ‘Newton’ movie won the Best Hindi language film award, while Pankaj Tripathi received a special mention for his performance in the same film.

Mithali Raj wins 'Sportsperson of the Year' award

Apr 2, 2018
Indian women's cricket team captain Mithali Raj was named 'Sportsperson of the Year' at the Telangana Sports Journalists Association annual awards for 2017 in Hyderabad. Ace Indian shuttlers Kidambi Srikanth and PV Sindhu won the best senior male and female athlete award respectively.

President confers Gallantry and Distinguished Service awards

Mar 28, 2018
The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind presented Gallantry and Distinguished Service awards to armed forces personnel at a solemn ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi. The Gallantry awards are given for displaying conspicuous gallantry, indomitable courage and extreme devotion to duty.

Canadian Mathematician Robert Langlands wins 2018 Abel Prize for his Grand Unified Theory

Mar 26, 2018
Robert Langlands was awarded for his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory.

President Ram Nath Kovind confers Padma Awards

Mar 21, 2018
The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind on March 20 presented the Padma awards to 43 eminent personalities at a Civil Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan. The Awards are conferred to people belonging to various disciplines or fields including art, social work, sports, public affairs, science and engineering, medicine and literature and education.

ICMR awarded International Kochon Prize 2017

Mar 14, 2018
The Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) has been awarded the International Kochon Prize 2017 for its contribution to the national programme in Tuberculosis research. The ICMR through its TB Consortium accelerated the efforts for research and development on the terminal disease in the country.

Union Government to institute award for best crime investigators

Mar 13, 2018
The award will be conferred to the best investigators of police forces of states, Union Territories and central investigating agencies. Officers from the rank of Sub-Inspector to Superintendent of Police will be eligible for the honour.

Myanmar’s Aung San Suu Kyi stripped of human rights award

Mar 9, 2018
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum has revoked a prestigious human rights award it had given to the Nobel laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, due to her inability to take a proper stand against the ethnic cleansing of the Rohingya Muslim minority in Myanmar.

Indian architect Balkrishna Doshi wins 2018 Pritzker Prize

Mar 8, 2018
With this, Doshi became the first Indian to win the Pritzker Prize, the premier global award for architecture.

Justice Gita Mittal to be conferred ‘Nari Shakti’ award on women’s day

Mar 8, 2018
Mittal is the first woman from the field of law and justice to be conferred the prestigious award. The Nari Shakti awards are national honours conferred on individual women for their exceptional achievement and exemplary service to the cause of upliftment of women.

Oscars 2018: ‘The Shape of Water’ won maximum awards

Mar 5, 2018
This year’s awards were majorly a three-way battle between Guillermo del Toro’s fantasy The Shape of Water, Christopher Nolan’s wartime epic Dunkirk and Martin McDonagh’s Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

Indian engineer awarded Sci-Tech Oscar Award

Feb 16, 2018
Sathaye received the award along with his team for their contribution towards the conceptualisation, design, engineering and the implementation of the innovative Shotover K1 Camera System that has been used to shoot several iconic films like the Hobbit and Spectre.

India’s Umang App, Aadhaar win awards at World Government Summit

Feb 14, 2018
India’s Aadhaar programme was recognised as the world’s largest biometric enabled identification programme at the recently concluded World Government Summit 2018 in Dubai.

Kannada writer, Chandrashekhara Kambara elected new president of Sahitya Akademi

Feb 14, 2018
Kambara is the third Kannada author, after Vinayaka Krishna Gokak and U R Ananthamurthy, to head the institution. He was elected with a clear majority over his rivals, well-known Marathi writer Bhalchandra Nemade and Oriya writer Pratibha Ray.

Sahitya Akademi Awards 2017 presented to 23 Indian language writers

Feb 13, 2018
The Sahitya Akademi Awards 2017 were given away to writers from 23 languages. The family of Tamil poet Inquilab, who was awarded posthumously, had earlier refused to accept the award and also didn’t attend the award ceremony.

Shesh Anand Madhukar awarded with Sahitya Akademi's Bhasha Samman 2018

Feb 1, 2018
Madhukar has been working extensively for the development of the Magahi language. Madhukar started his career as a lecturer in Hindi at the BSK College, Methan in 1966 and eventually became a reader and professor at the Saint Columba College, Hazaribagh.

Padma Awards 2018 announced

Jan 27, 2018
The Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian awards of the country, were announced on January 25, 2018. These awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

President of India confers Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2016

Jan 18, 2018
The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind, presented the Sangeet Natak Akademi’s Fellowships and Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for the year 2016 at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 17 January.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Newsletter Signup
Follow us on