Jagran Josh Logo
  1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule
  4.  |  
  5. Person Appointed

Justice Manjula Chellur appointed Chairperson of Appellate Tribunal for Electricity

22 hrs ago
Former Chief Justice of Bombay High Court, Justice Manjula Chellur has been appointed as the Chairperson of the Appellate Tribunal for Electricity. She has been appointed for a period of 3 years or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Justice VK Tahilramani sworn-in as Chief Justice of Madras High Court

1 day ago
Justice Tahilramani will be taking over from Acting Chief Justice Huluvadi G Ramesh, who was tasked to serve the High Court after the elevation of Chief Justice Indira Banerjee as the Supreme Court judge.

Rajendra Menon sworn in as Chief Justice of Delhi HC

3 days ago
Justice Rajendra Menon was sworn in as the new Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court by Lt Governor Anil Baijal at a ceremony held at the Raj Niwas in New Delhi on August 9. The inclusion of Justice Menon will not, however, add to the depleted number of judges of the Delhi high court.

Former Chilean President, Michelle Bachelet to be next UN human rights chief

Aug 10, 2018
The United Nations on August 8, 2018 announced that UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres has chosen former Chilean President Michelle Bachelet to be the UN’s new human rights chief. She was the first woman in her country to occupy the top position and is known to be a strong advocate for women’s rights.

Harivansh Narayan Singh elected as Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha

Aug 9, 2018
JDU’s Harivansh Narayan Singh was elected as the new deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha on August 9, 2018. Singh won the vote with 125 votes in favour and 105 against.

US President Donald Trump nominates Brett Kavanaugh as Supreme Court Judge

Jul 10, 2018
Kavanaugh is currently serving as a judge in the US Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit. He has served in the US Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit since 2006 and was formerly a White House aide under George W Bush.

Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel appointed NGT Chairperson

Jul 7, 2018
Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel, who retired from the Supreme Court of India on July 6, 2018, has been appointed as the new Chairperson of the National Green Tribunal. The post of NGT chairperson had been lying vacant for more than 6 months after the retirement of Justice Swatanter Kumar.

Major General Jose Eladio Alcain of Uruguay to head UN Military Observer Group in India and Pakistan

Jul 4, 2018
The first team of unarmed military observers, who eventually formed the nucleus of UNMOGIP, arrived in the mission area in January 1949 to supervise the State of Jammu and Kashmir, the ceasefire between India and Pakistan, and to assist the Military Adviser to the United Nations Commission for India and Pakistan (UNCIP).

Arvind Saxena appointed as acting UPSC Chairman

Jun 11, 2018
UPSC member Arvind Saxena has been appointed to serve as the acting Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) from June 20, 2018. Saxena was the first RAW officer to be named as a member of UPSC.

Ecuador's Maria Fernanda Espinosa Garces elected as President of UN General Assembly

Jun 6, 2018
Espinosa had earlier served as Minister of Foreign Affairs and Human Mobility; Minister of Defence; and Coordinating Minister of Cultural and Natural Heritage of Ecuador.

M K Jain named new RBI deputy governor

Jun 5, 2018
IDBI CEO M K Jain has been appointed as the fourth deputy governor of RBI for a three-year term. He would be succeeding SS Mundra, who retired in July last year. He was previously heading the Chennai-based Indian Bank.

Ramalingam Sudhakar sworn-in as Chief Justice of Manipur High Court

May 19, 2018
In March 2017, he was appointed as Acting Chief Justice of High Court of Jammu & Kashmir after the retirement of Justice Badar Durrez Ahmed.

Gina Haspel confirmed as first female director of CIA

May 18, 2018
The US Senate confirmed Gina Haspel as the first female director of Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) on May 17. Haspel’s nomination was confirmed in a 54-45 vote, following a difficult nomination process that reopened an emotional debate about brutal interrogation techniques in one of the darkest chapters of CIA’s history.

Uttam Pacharne appointed as Chairman of Lalit Kala Akademi

May 18, 2018
At present, Pacharne is a Member of Advisory Committee of Kala Academy, Goa and a Member of the Advisory Committee at P.L. Deshpande State Lalit Kala Academy.

Indu Malhotra takes oath as Supreme Court Judge

Apr 27, 2018
Senior advocate Indu Malhotra was administered the oath of office as a Supreme Court judge by Chief Justice Dipak Misra. The development makes her the first woman lawyer to be appointed to the top court. Since Independence, only six women judges have been appointed to the Supreme Court and till recently, the apex court had only one woman Judge - Justice R Banumathi.

US Senate confirms appointment of Jim Bridenstine as NASA Administrator

Apr 20, 2018
Bridenstine will be taking over the post after almost over 12 months gap since the former Administrator Charles Bolden resigned in January 2017.

US diplomat Rosemary DiCarlo becomes first female Head of UN Political Affairs

Apr 3, 2018
DiCarlo is currently serving as the President of the National Committee on American Foreign Policy, a group that focuses on solutions to conflicts involving the US interests.

Shekhara Kapur to head central panel for 65th National Film Awards

Mar 29, 2018
Veteran director Shekhar Kapur was appointed as the chairman of the central panel of the 65th National Film Awards. The central panel comprises a chairperson and 10 other members, including five regional chairpersons who head the respective regional panels.

Indu Bhushan appointed CEO of Ayushman Bharat mission

Mar 28, 2018
Indu Bhushan has been appointed as the Chief Executive Officer of the Union Government’s ambitious Ayushman Bharat National Health Protection Mission. The scheme aims to target over 10 crore families belonging to poor and vulnerable population based on the 2011 Socio-Economic and Caste Census database.

Justice Jawad Rahim appointed as acting Chairperson of NGT

Mar 28, 2018
The appointment of NGT's interim Chairperson would now enable the constitution of the NGT bench for western zone in Pune. There are 500 cases pending in the western zone bench of the NGT.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Newsletter Signup
Follow us on
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK