25 children including 13 girls selected for National Bravery Awards

Geeta Chopra award will be conferred on Tejasweeta Pradhan and Shivani Gond of West Bengal who showed immense courage fearlessly helping police and NGO in uncovering an international sex racket leading to the arrest of the mastermind in Delhi.

Jan 18, 2017 11:11 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Twenty five children, 12 girls and 13 boys, have been selected for the national bravery awards 2016. Four of the awards will be given posthumously. Every winner of the award will receive their awards from Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 23 January 2017.

These winners of the national award will participate in the parade of republic day, that is, on 26 January 2017. Later, the President Pranab Mukherjee will host a reception in their honour.

The coveted Bharat award will be conferred on 8-year-old late Kumari Tarh Peju of Arunachal Pradesh, who sacrificed her life while saving two of her friends from drowning.

List of selected children for National Bravery Awards 2016

Geeta Chopra Award: It will be conferred on Tejasweeta Pradhan, (18-year-old) and Shivani Gond (17-year-old) both from West Bengal. They displayed immense courage in helping the police and the NGO in uncovering an International sex racket leading to the arrest of the mastermind in Delhi.

Sanjay Chopra Award: It will be conferred on Master Sumit Mamgain (15-year-old) of Uttarakhand who displayed outstanding bravery in fighting a leopard to save his cousin.

Bapu Gaidhani Award: The award will be conferred on Late Km. Roluahpuii, (13-year-old) of Mizoram, Master Tushar Verma (15-year-old) of Chhattisgarh and Late Km. H Lalhriatpuii (14-year-old) of Mizoram. Roluahpuii sacrificed her life in her bold and selfless act of saving two girls from drowning. Tushar Verma, risked his life and extinguished a fire in his neighbour’s shed and saved many cattle. Lalhriatpuii sacrificed her life in an effort to save her cousin in a car accident.

Other recipients are
• Late Km. Payal Devi (Jammu & Kashmir)
• Master Praful Sharma (Himachal Pradesh)
• Master Akshit Sharma, Km. Akshita Sharma, Master Naman (all from Delhi)
• Master Sonu Mali (Rajasthan)
• Km. Nisha Dilip Patil (Maharashtra)
• Km. Anshika Pandey (Uttar Pradesh)
• Km. Siya Vamansa Khode (Karnataka)
• Master Adithyan M.P. Pillai, Master Binil Manjaly, Master Akhil K. Shibu and Km. Badarunnisa K.P. (all from Kerala)
• Master Tankeswar Pegu (Assam)
• Km. Neelam Dhruv (Chhattisgarh)
• Master Moirangthem Sadananda Singh (Manipur)
• Master Thanghilmang Lunkim (Nagaland)
• Master Mohan Sethy (Odisha)

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए