30 more countries expressed interest in joining AIIB

Jan 18, 2017 16:38 IST

30 more countries have expressed interest in joining the Beijing-based Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB). An announcement in this regard was made by Foreign Ministry spokesperson of China Hua Chunying on 17 January 2017.

AIIB bank of China

About Asian Infrastructure and Investment Bank

• The primary objective of the bank is to finance infrastructure building in Asia.

• The bank is expected to fill the infrastructure deficit by playing a complimentary role along with other multi-lateral financial institutions like Asian Development Bank (ADB) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

• The China-sponsored bank came into existence on 29 June 2015 with the signing of 60-article agreement. So far, the agreement was signed and ratified by 57 countries.

• The bank has an authorized capital of USD 100 billion.

Top 300 CA eBook

• Asian countries will contribute up to 75 per cent of the total capital. The member countries will be allocated a share of the quota based on their economic size.

• China will contribute USD 29.78 billion to the bank’s total capital base. With this amount, it becomes the AIIB’s largest shareholder with a 30.34 per cent stake.

• India is the second-largest shareholder. It has 8.4 per cent stake in the bank.

• In terms of shareholding, India is followed by Russia. It has a 6.5 per cent stake in the bank.

• Jin Liqun of China is the President of the bank. India’s nominee D J Pandian was appointed as the Vice-President of the bank in February 2016.

Key member countries of AIIB are -

China, India, Russia, Britain, France, Australia, Germany, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Austria, Singapore, South Korea, Qatar, Oman, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Denmark, Kuwait, Malaysia, Philippines, Holland, South Africa, Thailand, Azerbaijan, Brunei, Cambodia, Egypt, Finland, Georgia, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Maldives, Malta, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Uzbekistan and Vietnam.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes11 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK