1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule |  

Noted Hindi Novelist and Satirist Srilal Shukla Passed Away

Oct 29, 2011 16:44 IST

Renowned litterateur Srilal Shukla died at a hospital in Lucknow on 28 October 2011 following prolonged illness. He was 86. Srilal Shukla wrote Sooni Ghaati Ka Sooraj (1957), Agyaatvaas (1962), Rag Darbari (1968), Aadmi Ka Zahar (1972), Bisrampur Ka Sant (1998), Raag Viraag (2001) and many other novels. English translation of his novel Rag Darbari was published under the same title in 1993 by Penguin Books. The novel was also translated and published by National Book Trust, India in 15 Indian languages. A television serial based on this novel continued for several months on the DD National in the 1980s.

He wrote many satires like Angad Ka Paanv, Yahaan Se Vahaan, Meri Shreshtha Vyangya Rachnayein (1979), Kuchh Zameen Mein Kuchh Hava Mein (1990), Jahaalat Ke Pachaas Saal (2003), Khabron Ki Jugaali (2005) and many more. Yeh Ghar Mera Nahin, Suraksha Tatha Anya Kahaaniyan, Iss Umra Mein, Dus Pratinidhi Kahaaniyan are his short story collections. Mere Saakshaatkaar (2002) and Kuchh Saahitya Charcha Bhi (2008) are his memoirs. His detective novel entitled Aadmi Ka Zahar was serialised in the weekly magazine Hindustan. His works throw light on the falling moral values of society in post-independence era. Raag Darbaari portrayed a feudal, crumbling Shivpalganj- the archetypal village of the Hindi heartland with its politico-cultural tensions and administrative neglect. Shukla delved upon almost everything that was decadent in the system, but stopped short of making a moral statement.

Noted Hindi writer, Shrilal Shukla was born in Atrauli village of Lucknow district on 31 December 1925. He had graduated from Allahabad University. He began his career as a state civil servant (UPPCS) in 1949. Later on, he was inducted into the IAS but in 1983 he left the services and continued to pursue his literary dreams. Shrilal Shukla was presented the India’s highest literary honour Jnanpith award on his hospital bed by Uttar Pradesh Governor B L Joshi on 18 October 2011. He and another Hindi author Amar Kant were chosen on 19 September 2011 for the Jnanpith award for the year 2009. He was honoured with the Sahitya Akademi Award for novel Raag Darbari for the year 1969. He was also a recipient of Vyas Samman (1999), Lohia Sammaan (1994) of Uttar Pradesh Hindi Sansthaan, Sharad Joshi and Maithili Sharan Gupta Sammaan of Madhya Pradesh Government. He was awarded with national civilian honour Padma Bhushan in 2008.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed

DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK