Aizawl FC becomes first north-eastern club to win 2016-17 I-League

May 2, 2017 14:16 IST

Aizawl FC becomes first north-eastern club to win 2016-17 I-LeagueAizawl FC on 30 April 2017 defeated Shillong Lajong FC to grab the 2016-17 I-League in Shillong, Meghalaya.

With this, Aizawl FC became the first ever north-eastern club to win the title.

The 2016-17 I-League was the 10th edition of the I-League held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Shillong.

CA eBook

About I-League

The Hero I League is an Indian professional league for men's association football clubs.

At present, it is contested by 10 clubs.

It operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the I-League 2nd Division as well as a system of direct-entry.

It was formed in 2007 as the ONGC I-League. It is a successor to the previous National Football League.

Since the league inception, a total of five clubs have been crowned champions of the I-League.

Bengaluru FC was the winner of the 2016-16 I-League.

Quick Digest

Who: Aizawl FC

What: Won 2016-17 I-League

When: 30 April 2017

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: I-League , Football , Aizawl FC , Shillong Lajong FC

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK