1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Angelo Mathews named as captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year 2014

Nov 6, 2014 16:16 IST

Sri Lankan cricket captain Angelo Mathews on 5 November 2014 was named as captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year 2014.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order)

• David Warner (Australia)
• Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
• Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
• AB de Villiers (South Africa)
• Joe Root (England)
• Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka) (captain)
• Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
• Stuart Broad (England)
• Dale Steyn (South Africa)
• Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)
• Tim Southee (New Zealand)
• Ross Taylor (New Zealand) (12th man)
The ICC Test team of the Year was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC’s Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble. The selection panel also included Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

The selected team was announced at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai, where ICC Chief Executive David Richardson also announced the short-lists for the LG ICC Awards 2014.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes23 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK