Ashok Chakra awarded posthumously to Lance Naik Mohan Nath Goswami

Jan 27, 2016 11:06 IST

President Pranab Mukherjee, on 26 January 2016, awarded India’s highest peacetime gallantry award Ashoka Chakra, posthumously to Lance Naik Mohan Nath Goswami of 9 Para (Special Forces) of the Rashtriya Rifles.

Why was he selected for Ashoka Chakra award?

• For making a supreme sacrifice in the highest traditions of the Indian Army.

• He exhibited the most outstanding gallantry in personally killing two terrorists and also assisted in neutralizing another two and saved the lives of three of his wounded colleagues in a fierce encounter with four terrorists at Kupwara district of Jammu and Kashmir.

What is Ashoka Chakra award?

• It was established as Ashoka Chakra, Class I by the President of India on 4 January 1952 which came into effect from 15 August 1947.

• It is the highest Indian peacetime gallantry award which was constituted on similar lines of the British Awards of the George Cross.

• It was constituted as Ashok Chakra Class I along with Ashok Chakra Class II and III. These awards were renamed as the Ashoka, Kirti and Shaurya Chakras in 1967.

• It is awarded for valor, courageous action or self sacrifice away from the battlefield.

• Each recipient of the award will get 2800 rupees per month.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes21 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK