1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Aung Suu Kyi Received the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought

Oct 23, 2013 14:46 IST

Aung Suu Kyi on 23 October 2013 received the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought at Strasbourg, France. She was chosen by the European Parliament in 1990.

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought announced by the European Parliament in 1990 when she was under house arrest.

Other awards received by Aung Suu Kyi

1. Rafto Prize in the year 1990
2. Nobel Peace Prize in the year 1991
3. The government of India awarded her with Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding in the year 1992
4. The government of Venezuela awarded her with International Simon Bolivar Prize .
5. The Government of Canada in 2007 awarded her with Honorary citizenship, she was among the only four people by then to receive the award.
6. She won the Wallenberg Medal in 2011.

About the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought

• The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded each year by the European Parliament.
• The prize was set up in 1988 to honour individuals or organisations for their efforts on behalf of human rights and fundamental freedoms.
• The Sakharov Prize for free speech is awarded annually in memory of Soviet physicist and dissident Andrei Sakharov

Is this article important for exams ? Yes66 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Aung Suu Kyi , Sakharov Prize

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK