Australia won 2016 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

Apr 18, 2016 10:07 IST

Australia on 16 April 2016 defeated India 4-0 in the final to win the 25th edition of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup held in Ipoh, Malaysia.

This was the 9th title for the Aussies at this tournament having last won it in 2014.

India last won the tournament in 2010, their fifth title, when they were jointly declared winners with South Korea.

Thomas Craig and Matt Gohdes scored two goals each in open field play for Australia. The Aussies took off though Craig's field goals in the 25th and 35th minutes. Gohdes made it 3-0 in the 43rd minute and scored the fourth in the 57th minute.

New Zealand, the winner of 2015 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, acquired the third place in the 25th edition of the tournament.

About Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup is an annual international men's field hockey tournament held in Malaysia.

It began in 1983 as a biennial contest.

The tournament became an annual event after 1998, following its growth and popularity.

The tournament is named after the ninth Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) of Malaysia, Sultan Azlan Shah, who was an avid fan of field hockey.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Quick Digest

Who: Australia

Where: Ipoh , Malaysia

What: Won 2016 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

When: 16 April 2016

Is this article important for exams ? Yes7 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: India , New Zealand , Australia , Sultan Azlan Shah Cup , Hockey

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK