Australian Open 2011

Novak Djokovic & Kim Clijsters won the Australian Open tennis championship 2011 in the men's and women's category respectively.

Created On: Jan 31, 2011 16:11 ISTModified On: Mar 18, 2011 16:47 IST

Novak Djokovic of Serbia won his second Australian Open tennis championship title by defeating Andy Murray of Britain 6-4, 6-2, 6-3 on 30 January 2011. Britain’s near 75-year drought in men’s singles Grand Slams could not be put to an end as a result of Murray’s defeat. Djokovic had last won the Australian Open in 2008. Murray had earlier lost to Roger Federer at both the 2008 US Open and the 2010 Australian Open. Fred Perry who won the 1936 US Open was the last British man to win a Grand Slam singles title.

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan from USA defeated Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes from India to win the Men's Doubles final at the Australian Open.

Katarina Srebotnik of Slovenia and Canada's Daniel Nestor won the mixed doubles title at the Australian Open by defeating Chan Yung-jan of Taiwan and Australia's Paul Hanley 6-3, 3-6, 10-7.

Kim Clijsters of Belgium defeated Na Li from China to win the Women's Singles final at the Australian Open in 2011.

Gisela Dulko of Argentina and Flavia Pennetta of Italy won the Women's Doubles Final at the Australian Open tennis championship by defeating Victoria Azarenka of Belarus and Maria Kirilenko of Russia.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Related Stories

Post Comment

4 + 0 =