1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Bengaluru FC won I-League Football title

Apr 24, 2014 11:10 IST

Bengaluru FC Club on 21 April 2014 won the I-League Football title in their debut season. Bengaluru FC Club defeated Dempo Sports Club 4-2 in the league match held at Shillong.

The win helped the Bengaluru FC club accumulate 44 points and take an unassailable lead with one round still to be played. East Bengal and Salgaocar Football Club will play for the second and third spot.

imageBangalore FC Club scored through Sean Rooney (2nd), Robin Singh (56th), John Menyongar (79th) and Captain Sunil Chhetri (90+7). Sunil Chhetri with 20 goals is leading the tally of total goals in the I-League.  

Sunil Chhetri is also the Captain of the Indian Football team.

About I-League

I-League is an Indian professional league for association football clubs. It is the country's top football competition. The league consisted of 14 clubs. It operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the I-League 2nd Division.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes24 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Bengaluru FC Club , I-League Football title , won

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK