Bhuvneshwar Kumar won LG People’s Choice Awards

Cricketer Bhuvneshwar Kumar won LG People’s Choice Award 2014. He is the third Indian player after Sachin and Dhoni to win the coveted prize.

Created On: Nov 5, 2014 16:16 ISTModified On: Nov 5, 2014 18:25 IST

Bhuvneshwar KumarIndia fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar on 5 November 2014 won LG People’s Choice Award 2014. He is the third Indian player to win the coveted prize and overall fourth cricketer to win this prize.

Earlier the award has been won by Sachin Tendulkar (first-ever recipient in 2010), Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara (in 2011 and 2012), and Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2013).

Other nominees for the year’s People’s Choice Award were
• England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards
• Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson
• Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews
• South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn

Voting for the award commenced on 8 October 2014 and closed at midnight UAE time on 30 October 2014. The five players were selected by the panel using the criteria defined by LG and the ICC.

The short-list name was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts that is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble. Other members of the panel were Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

7 + 2 =