1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Brendon McCullum conferred with Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for 2014-15

Apr 2, 2015 15:00 IST

New Zealand cricket team captain Brendon McCullum on 1 April 2015 was conferred with the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for 2014-15. McCullum won the award for his remarkable performance both as a player and the captain during the 2014-15 season.

The highest cricketing honour of New Zealand was presented to him during the New Zealand Cricket (NZC) Awards presentation ceremony held in New Zealand’s capital Auckland.

List of New Zealand Cricket Awards 2014-15 winners

Sir Richard Hadlee Medal - Brendon McCullum
International Women's Player of the Year - Suzie Bates
Redpath Cup (batting) - Kane Williamson
Winsor Cup (bowling) - Trent Boult
ANZ Twenty20 International Player of the Year - Kane Williamson
ANZ ODI Player of the Year - Kane Williamson
ANZ Test Player of the Year - Kane Williamson
Domestic Cricketer of the Year (men) - Andrew Ellis
Domestic Cricketer of the Year (women) - Amy Satterthwaite
Best Sutcliffe Award - Ross Dykes

Brendon McCullum performance in 2014-15
• He scored double Test Century against Pakistan in Sharjah in November 2014 and in the process scored the fastest test century by a New Zealander.
• He was the first New Zealander to score 1000 Test runs in a calendar year in the test against Sri Lanka at Hagley Oval in Christchurch where he also scored another captain’s knock of 195. Overall, he scored 1164 runs in the season.
• Under his leadership the team registered the successful test season, claiming five Test wins.
• He scored an ODI century against Sri Lanka in the lead up the ICC Cricket World Cup and was selected as the captain of the ICC tournament team.
• He successfully lead the team to their first ever ICC Cricket World cup final in March 2015 in which Australia won by 7 wickets.
• Overall McCullum has scored 5451 runs in 89 Tests and 5808 runs in 248 ODI matches.

Earlier in February 2015, he was named as the New Zealand sportsman of the year and became the first cricketer to win the title since 1991.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes16 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK