British Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton won inaugural Russian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton won inaugural Russian Grand Prix.

Created On: Oct 14, 2014 10:59 ISTModified On: Oct 14, 2014 11:03 IST

British Formula One (F1) driver Lewis Hamilton on 12 October 2014 won the inaugural Russian Grand Prix of Formula One.

After the win he dedicated his victory to French F1 driver Jules Bianchi, who is in a critical condition ever since his crash at Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka in October 2014.

This was his ninth victory of the season, his fourth in a row and the 31st of his career. He thus equalled Nigel Mansell’s record for most victories by a British F1 driver.

Nico Rosberg of Germany finished the race at second place. The Williams driver Valtteri Bottas finished third.
With Hamilton and Rosberg coming first and second, Mercedes team thereby won the constructors’ title for 2014, with three races left to go.

It was Mercedes first constructors title as a team.Although Mercedes won the drivers’ title in 1954 and 1955; the constructors’ title did not exist until 1958.

Drivers Standings

Hamilton leads the drivers standings by 17 points, with 291 points, and Rosberg is in second, with 274 points. Daniel Ricciardo of the Red Bull team is third, with 199 points.

Russian Grand Prix
Although there was a Russian Grand Prix Russian Grand Prix in 1913 and in 1914, which was won by a Benz but it was the first in Formula One history, since 1950.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

8 + 1 =