British mathematician Sir Andrew Wiles won 2016 Abel Prize

Wiles won the award for solving a centuries-old hypothesis, Fermat's Last Theorem.

Created On: Mar 17, 2016 10:16 ISTModified On: Mar 17, 2016 10:51 IST

Sir Andrew WilesBritish mathematician Sir Andrew Wiles on 15 March 2016 was named as the winner of the 2016 Abel Prize by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters in Oslo.

Wiles won the award for solving a centuries-old hypothesis, Fermat's Last Theorem.

Crown Prince Haakon will present the award to Wiles in May 2016 for an achievement that the academy described as an epochal moment for mathematics.

Who is Sir Andrew Wiles?

Sir Andrew John Wiles is a Royal Society Research Professor at the University of Oxford, specialising in number theory.

He is most notable for proving Fermat's Last Theorem.

He earned his bachelor's degree in mathematics in 1974 at Merton College, Oxford, and a PhD in 1980 at Clare College, Cambridge.

In 1985–86, he was a Guggenheim Fellow at the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques near Paris and at the École Normale Supérieure.

From 1988 to 1990, he was a Royal Society Research Professor at the University of Oxford. He rejoined Oxford in 2011 as Royal Society Research Professor.

About Fermat's Last Theorem

In number theory, Fermat's Last Theorem states that no three positive integers a, b, and c satisfy the equation an + bn = cn for any integer value of n greater than two. The cases n = 1 and n = 2 are known to have infinitely many solutions since ancient times.

The theorem was first conjectured by Pierre de Fermat in 1637.

However, the first successful proof was released in 1994 by Andrew Wiles. It was formally published in 1995, after 358 years of effort by mathematicians.

It is among the most notable theorems in the history of mathematics and prior to its proof it was in the Guinness Book of World Records as the most difficult mathematical problem.

About Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is a Norwegian prize awarded annually by the Government of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians.

It is named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel.

The award was established in 2001 by the Government of Norway.

It comes with a monetary award of 6 million Norwegian kroner.

The Abel Prize is described as the mathematician's Nobel Prize.

John F. Nash, Jr. And Louis Nirenberg were the winners of the 2015 Abel Prize.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

8 + 2 =