BS Yeddyurappa takes oath as Karnataka CM

After one full day of speculation, Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala invited the BJP, the party that won majority seats, to form the new government in the state and asked the 75-year Yeddyurappa to take over the chief minister’s post.

May 17, 2018 11:45 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

BS Yeddyurappa, Karnataka BJP President, was sworn in as Karnataka’s new Chief Minister on May 17, 2018, ending hours on uncertainty.

After one full day of speculation, Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala invited the BJP, the party that won majority seats, to form the new government in the state and asked the 75-year Yeddyurappa to take over the chief minister’s post. The Governor has given the party 15 days of time to prove its majority in the legislative assembly.

Key Developments

The oath of the office was administered to two-time former Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa by Governor Vajubhai Vala at Raj Bhawan.

The Congress and the Janta Dal (Secular) combined had filed a late-night petition in the Supreme Court on May 16 to stop the swearing in of Yeddyurappa.

However, the top court refused to order a stay on the Governor’s decision and stop the oath-taking ceremony in a rare late-night hearing.

This is the third time that BS Yeddyurappa has become Karnataka’s chief minister. His first term was from November 12, 2007 to November 19, 2007, while the second was from May 30, 2008 to July 31, 2011.

Yeddyurappa was the only one to take the oath, no other ministers were sworn-in by the Governor.

The Dynamics of Karnataka Election Results 2018

•    The BJP had emerged as the single largest party by winning 104 seats in the 224-member house but it fell 8 seats short of winning an absolute majority.

•    On the other hand, the Congress won 78 seats, while the JD(S) bagged 38 seats. Together, the two parties in their post-poll alliance had 116 seats, way above the majority mark of 112.

•    Besides these parties, the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party won one seat each and the remaining one seat was won by an independent.

•    Hence, having majority number the Congress and JD(s) had approached the Karnataka Governor to gain permission to form the government with the signature of over 117 MLAs.

SC’s verdict : Key Highlights

• The Supreme Court on May 16, 2018 refused to stay the swearing-in of BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa.

• The decision was taken by a special three-judge bench comprising Justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan.

• The bench, however, stated that the swearing-in ceremony and the government formation will be subject to the final outcome of the case before it.

• The apex court was hearing a petition filed by Congress and JD(S) challenging the governor's decision to invite Yeddyurappa to form a new government in the state.

• In the petition, the two parties had sought to stay the swearing-in of Yeddyurappa.

• The top court while hearing the case, directed the Centre to place before it two communications, sent by BJP to Governor Vajubhai Vala in which it had staked claim to form the government.

• The court also issued notices to the Karnataka government and Yeddyurappa seeking their replies on the plea filed by Congress-JD (S) combine and posted the matter for hearing tomorrow.


Guidelines regarding Hung Assembly

• According to the laid guidelines, the Governor should first call upon the leader of the single largest party to form the government in the state.

• In case of a refusal, he has to call upon the second largest party to form the government.

• If no single party is willing to form a government he can opt for the leader of the group that has formed a pre-poll alliance.

• In the event of even such a possibility not materialising, the Governor should explore the possibility of forming a government out of a post-poll alliance.

• The last option is to ask an all-party government to form a caretaker government to look after the affairs of the state till the next elections are held.

• It is accepted in principle that such a caretaker government shall have limited powers and elections have to be held within a period of six months.

• The decision of the Governor has to be an ‘informed one’ and ‘on sound basis’, with a view to provide a stable government.

Karnataka Elections 2018: Governor Vajubhai Vala to take the final call

The Governor's role in Hung Assembly

Recent cases when ‘guidelines’ were not followed

In Manipur, the BJP won 21 constituencies and the Congress won 28 constituencies out of 60 Constituencies. But BJP managed to form an alliance.

In Goa, the BJP won 13 seats and the Congress won 17 seats out of 40 constituencies. Yet the state’s Governor invited BJP leader Manohar Parrikar to form the new government in the state.

Read More Current Affairs

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए