C Radhakrishnan selected for Moortidevi Award

Malayalam writer C Radhakrishnan selected for the prestigious Moortidevi Award for 2013 for his novel Theekkadal Katanhu Thirumadhuram.

Created On: Jun 14, 2014 14:14 ISTModified On: Jun 14, 2014 14:54 IST

C Radhakrishnan, the eminent Malayalam scientist-turned-writer was selected for the prestigious Moortidevi Award for 2013 on 13 June 2014. He has been selected for his novel Theekkadal Katanhu Thirumadhuram.

The novel is a biographical account of Thunchat Ramaanujan Ezhuthachan, the person who is regarded as the father of Malayalam language. The novel is an attempt to bring back life to the socio-cultural ambience of 15th century. Radhakrishnan as a person has also contributed to popular science and all branches of literature, mostly fiction.

Radhakrishnan is the second Malayalam writer to be awarded with the Moortidevi award. The first Malayalam author to win the award was Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri in 2009 for his selected poems.

Moortidevi award    

Moortidevi award is presented by the Bhartiya Jnanpith and carries cash prize of four lakh rupees, a plaque and a statue of goddess Saraswati.

The award is given in the memory of Moortidevi, the mother of Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain, the founder of Bhartiya Jnanpith. It is given to a contemplative or intellectual work created by any living author writing in any of the languages enlisted in the VIIIth Schedule of Indian Constitution including English, which underlines and expresses Indian philosophy and cultural heritage based on wider ideals and human lives.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

9 + 8 =