Chennai Smashers defeats Mumbai Rockets to win 2017 Premier Badminton League

Jan 17, 2017 14:05 IST

2017 Premier Badminton LeagueChennai Smashers on 14 January 2017 emerged victorious over Mumbai Rockets by 4-3 in the summit clash to clinch the 2017 Premier Badminton League (PBL) title.

Chennai Smashers’ T Saensomboonsuk produced a come-from-behind win against Mumbai Rockets’ Ajay Jayaram in the deciding fifth rubber as the former edged out the latter in the final to grab the PBL season 2 title.

The match was played at Siri Fort Complex in New Delhi.

Awadhe Warriors, Chennai Smashers, Hyderabad Hunters and Mumbai Rockets had entered the semi-finals after topping the league table.

Top 300 CA eBook

About Premier Badminton League

Premier Badminton League is a franchise league.

It is managed and commercially owned by the Badminton Association of India.

It was founded in 2013.

It was earlier named as Indian Badminton League (IBL).

Later, it was rechristened to Premier Badminton League before the start of the second season in 2016.

The tournament aims at bringing top Indian players along with International players on the same platform.

The tournament consists of 15 league ties, where in each tie comprises 5 matches. The top four teams then progress to the knock out stages.

The inaugural Indian Badminton League title was won by Hyderabad Hotshots.

The 2016 season was won by Delhi Acers.

•  Sachin Tendulkar became a co-owner of Bengaluru Topguns before the 2017 season. The team was then renamed as Bengaluru Blasters.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Chennai Smashers , Mumbai Rockets , Premier Badminton League , 2017 PBL

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK