1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Chhetri and Devi presented with 2014 AIFF Player of the Year award

Feb 14, 2015 09:23 IST

Indian men’s football team captain Sunil Chhetri and striker Bala Devi on 13 February 2015 were awarded with the All India Football Federations (AIFF) 2014 Player of the Year trophy in men and women category, respectively.  
Others to be honoured with AIFF awards, include
2014 Player of the year (Men): Sunil Chhetri
2014 Player of the year (Women): Bala Devi
2014 Emerging Player of the Year: Sandesh Jhingan
2014 Best Referee: Santosh Kumar
2014 Best Assistant Referee: Sappam Kennedy
Best Grassroots Programme: Western India Football Association (WIFA)
Long Time Contribution to Indian Football: Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC)

Chhetri was voted as the winner by I-League coaches and this was the fourth time that he received the award. Earlier, he was named as the Player of the Year in 2007, 2011 and 2013. With the fourth title, he surpassed the legendary Inivalappil Mani Vijayan who won the award thrice.

Devi was recognised with the award for scoring 47 goals, including 18 in international matches in 2014. Her teammate Oinam Bembem Devi won it on the last two occasions.

Besides a trophy, Chhetri also pocketed 2 lakh rupees, while Devi received a cash prize of 1 lakh rupees. On the other hand, Jhingan who played for the Kerala Blasters in the Indian Super League received a cash prize of 75000 rupees.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes31 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK