1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Chris Hoy, six time Olympic Gold Medalist announced Retirement

Apr 19, 2013 12:35 IST

Sir Chris Hoy, the Six-time Olympic Gold Medalist from Britain on 18 April 2013 decided to retire from cycling after using every last ounce of energy and effort at London 2012. He announced his retirement at Murrayfield in Edinburgh. The 37 year old cycling champion decided to retire before the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

About Chris Hoy

•    Chris Hoy has six-Olympic Gold Medals by his name; he secured the last two during the London Olympics-2012
•    He won his first Olympic gold medal by securing a victory in the one kilometre time-trial at Athens in 2004
•    In Sydney Olympics 2000, he won a silver medal in the team sprint
•    During the Beijing Olympics in 2008, he won 3 gold medals by his name in the in the team sprint, keirin and sprint
•    In 2008 he was voted as the 2008 BBC Sports Personality of the year
•    He is the first Briton, who claimed six Olympic Gold medal by his name, before him Sir Steve Redgrave recorded his name as a person to win maximum gold medals with five Olympic Gold medals

Medals won by him in Different Format of Game


Year and Type of Race

Olympic Games

  • 2004: 1km track time trial
  • 2008: Team sprint, keirin and sprint
  • 2012: Team sprint and keirin

World Championships

  • 2002: 1km time trial and team sprint
  • 2004: 1km time trial
  • 2005: Team sprint
  • 2006: 1km time trial
  • 2007: Keirin and 1km time trial
  • 2008: Sprint and keirin
  • 2010: Keirin
  • 2012: Keirin

Commonwealth Games

  • 2002: 1km time trial
  • 2006: Team sprint


Is this article important for exams ? Yes18 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK