Commonwealth Day 2017 observed by Commonwealth countries

Mar 15, 2017 09:42 IST

Second Monday of March: Commonwealth Day

The Commonwealth Day 2017 was observed by the 52 countries of the Commonwealth on 13 March 2017, the second Monday of March 2017. The theme of Commonwealth Day 2017 was 'A peace-building Commonwealth'.

This year's theme A peace-building Commonwealth is a natural follow-on from 2016 theme 'An Inclusive Commonwealth'. It reaffirms the Commonwealth Charter principle that international peace and security, sustainable economic growth and development are essential to the progress and prosperity of all.

This year observation of the day marks 40 years of the Commonwealth Day that became a global celebration in 1977.

CA eBook

About Commonwealth Countries
• The Commonwealth is one of the world’s oldest political associations of states.
• It began back when some countries were ruled by Britain under the British Empire and was founded in December 1931.
• The countries that became self-governing, while keeping Britain’s monarch as Head of State, formed the British Commonwealth of Nations.
• The Commonwealth came into existence in 1949 and since then independent countries from Africa, America, Asia, Europe and the Pacific have joined the group.
• Some of the Commonwealth countries are Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Bangladesh, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Canada, Jamaica, Cyprus, United Kingdom, Australia, Fiji and many more.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Commonwealth Day 2017 , Commonwealth countries

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK