1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

Congress won the Mizoram Assembly Election by two-third majority

Dec 10, 2013 10:24 IST

Indian National Congress on 9 December 2013 emerged as the winner in the Mizoram Assembly election by winning 33 seats in the 40 member house. The result was declared by the Election Commission of India.

The ruling party congress has secured two third of majority in the state, whereas the opposition party, Mizoram Democratic Alliance secured six seats. Other parties like Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP), BJP, NCP and Jai Mahabharat (JMB) failed to win any seat.  

The Chief Minister of Mizoram Lal Thanhawla won from both Serchhip and Hrangturzo seats. While the Finance Minister Liansailova and Tourism Minister S Hiato lost the elections.

The results of 39 seats were declared and re-poll will be done on 11 December 2013 for the Lawngtlai East Constituency in Southern Mizoram. It was necessitated due to a defect in an EVM.

Result of Mizoram in the 40 member house


Seats won

Indian National Congress


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA)


Others (Independent party)

Over 81 percent voters exercised their franchise during the elections on the 25 November 2013. Congress for the fifth time came to the power in Mizoram, which shares borders with Myanmar and Bangladesh. In 2008, Congress won 32 seats of the 40 seats in the Assembly election.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK