Congress-JD(S) coalition wins floor test in Karnataka assembly

May 25, 2018 20:02 IST
Congress-JD(S) coalition wins floor test in Karnataka assembly

The Janata Dal-Secular (JDS)-Congress coalition headed by H D Kumaraswamy won the floor test in the Karnataka assembly on May 25, 2018, ending the 10-day political drama.

The motion expressing confidence in the Kumaraswamy government was adopted through a voice vote. Overall, 117 MLAs voted in favour of the coalition government. The BJP MLAs led by former CM Yeddyurappa staged a walkout over the farm loan waiver issue just before the trust vote.

Key highlights

The election for the post of Speaker preceded the vote of confidence. Senior Congress leader Ramesh Kumar was elected unanimously to the post by the lawmakers after BJP candidate Suresh Kumar withdrew his nomination.

The win for the post-poll alliance came two days after Kumaraswamy was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of the state.

Kumaraswamy had claimed the support of 117 legislators including one BSP and one independent member.

BJP with 104 members was eight short of being the majority party in the House that has the strength of 222 members.

With the final result out in the open, BJP would be the only opposition in the House and B S Yeddyurappa was selected to be the leader of Opposition.

Govind Karjol was elected as the deputy leader of the Opposition.

All you need to know about new Karnataka Assembly Speaker!

 HD Kumaraswamy wins confidence motion

• Congress MLA KR Ramesh Kumar was elected as the Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly unopposed, ahead of a floor test to verify the Congress-JD(S) alliance’s majority in the house.

• Ramesh Kumar had previously served as speaker between 1994 and 1999 when H D Deve Gowda and later J H Patel were Chief Ministers.

• The nomination of Kumar for the speaker’s post was acceptable to both the Congress and the JD(S), as he formerly was a member of the Janata Dal.

• Ramesh Kumar first won an election in 1978 as a Congress member before moving to the Janata Dal in 1985.

• In 2004, he moved back to the Congress and has been with the party ever since.


With the Karnataka Assembly polls resulting in a hung verdict, the second largest party –Congress and Janata Dal-Secular decided to come together to stake claim to form the government in the state.

With the power being in the hands of Governor Vajubhai Vala, BJP-the single largest party in the state was called to form the government and the party’s state leader BS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of the state.

However, in the sudden floor test ordered by the Supreme Court, the BJP failed to gather the required numbers and Yeddyurappa announced his resignation from the post just before the trust vote.

Following this, Congress- JD(s) coalition led by Kumaraswamy was invited to form the government in the state. Kumaraswamy was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of the state on May 23, 2018.

While the Congress has 78 legislators, JDS has 37. The alliance also claimed the support of an independent and one BSP MLA.


HD Kumaraswamy sworn in as Karnataka Chief Minister

Read More Current Affairs

Is this article important for exams ? Yes

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK