David R Syiemlieh appointed as Chairman of UPSC

Jan 3, 2017 13:27 IST

President Pranab Mukherjee on 2 January 2017 appointed Professor David R Syiemlieh as the Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

Syiemlieh will take over the position with effect from 4 January 2017 till completion of his term as member on 21 January 2018.

Syiemlieh, who is serving as the Member of UPSC, will succeed Alka Sirohi, a former IAS officer of the Madhya Pradesh cadre.

CA eBook

Who is David R Syiemlieh?

  • David Reid Syiemlieh is an academician.
  • He completed his education from Dr Graham's Homes, Kalimpong. He earned a Bachelor’s degree in History Honours from St. Edmund's College, Shillong. He also obtained a Master's degree in History, MPhil and PhD from the North Eastern Hill University, Shillong.
  • In 1979, he joined the Department of History, North Eastern Hill University (NEHU).
  • He also served as the Vice Chancellor of the Rajiv Gandhi University, Doimukh, Arunachal Pradesh.
  • He is credited with discovering the date of death and other details of the last days of Tirot Sing, the Khasi chief of Nongkhlaw.
  • He has served as the Honorary Director of the Indian Council for Social Science Research, North Eastern Regional Centre, Shillong.
  • He has also been the Member of the Indian Council of Historical Research, New Delhi.
  • On 5 October 2011, he was appointed the as Vice-Chancellor of Rajiv Gandhi University.

About Union Public Service Commission

  • The Union Public Service Commission is India's central agency authorised to conduct the Civil Services Examination, Combined Medical Services Examination, National Defence Academy Examination, etc.
  • Its charter is granted by the Constitution of India. Articles 315 to 323 of Part XIV of the constitution, titled as Services Under the Union and the States, provide for a Public Service Commission for the Union and for each state.
  • It consists of a chairman and ten members.
  • The Union Public Service Commission (Members) Regulations, 1969 governs the terms and conditions of service of chairman and members.
  • The President of India appoints the Chairman and other members of the UPSC.
  • Every member of the Commission holds office for a term of six years or until he attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes6 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK