Deepak Gupta appointed as Chairman of UPSC

Deepak Gupta was appointed as chairman of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

Created On: Nov 24, 2014 15:33 ISTModified On: Nov 24, 2014 16:09 IST

Deepak Gupta on 23 November 2014 was appointed as chairman of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). He was appointed as Chairperson of UPSC by the President Pranab Mukherjee in accordance with the Article 316 (1) of the Constitution.

He took charge as UPSC chairman on 23 November 2014. Gupta replaced Rajni Razdan, who completed her term on 22 November 2014.

He is the first non-UPSC member to be appointed as UPSC chairman. He is a retired IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre. Traditionally, UPSC chairman is appointed from the serving members of the Commission.

Other members of the UPSC Commission are
• Academician David R Syiemlieh
• Former IFS officer Manbir Singh
• Former CBI Director Amar Pratap Singh
• Former Navy Vice Chief D K Dewan
• Ex-Railway Board Chairman Vinay Mittal
• Educationists P Kelimsungla and Hem Chandra Gupta
• Former IAS officer Chhatar Singh

About appointment of UPSC chairman and other members

The Chairman and other members of UPSC shall be appointed by President of India. The Constitution has not specified the strength of members of UPSC and left it on discretion of President. Generally, UPSC consist of 9 to 11 members.

Qualifications – According to article 316, it is mentioned that at least one half of the members of UPSC shall be the persons who have held office for at least 10 years either under Government of India or Government of a State. But it has not specified any qualifications for other half members of UPSC.

A member of UPSC shall hold office for a term of 6 years from date on which he enters into the office or until he attains age of 65 years whichever is earlier. Provided that a member can resign any time to President and can be removed from his office.

The President can appoint one of members of UPSC as acting chairman if office of chairman becomes vacant or if chairman of UPSC is by reasons of absence or for any other unable to perform his duties.

Article 319 – The Chairman of UPSC is not eligible for further employment either under Government of India or a State. The other members of UPSC are only eligible for office of Chairman of UPSC or Chairman of a State PSC but not for any other employment.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

8 + 3 =