MK Stalin takes oath as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister today, check MK Stalin’s 33-member cabinet

DMK president MK Stalin will assume the office of the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the first time and form his 33-member cabinet.

Created On: May 7, 2021 09:51 ISTModified On: May 7, 2021 09:52 IST
MK Stalin taking oath as CM, Source: ANI

The DMK chief MK Stalin has been sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on May 7, 2021, at Raj Bhavan in Chennai. Governor Banwarilal Purohit administered the oath-taking ceremony.

The DMK president MK Stalin will assume the office of the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the first time and form his 33-member cabinet after a massive victory at the Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2021.

The cabinet comprises 19 former and 15 fresh faces, among them two women ministers. His son Udhayanidhi was not included in the cabinet.

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) had won 133 seats in the 234-assembly seats in the Tamil Nadu General Assembly Elections 2021 on May 2, 2021.

Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit appointed DMK chief MK Stalin on May 5, 2021, as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu after the DMK chief MK Stalin along with general secretary Duraimurugan and party veterans met the Governor of Tamil Nadu at the Raj Bhavan and put forward a letter stating his election as leader of the DMK party, a Raj Bhavan release said. 

MK Stalin will hold the following portfolios: Home, Special Initiatives, General Administration, Welfare of Differently-abled Persons, and Special Programme Implementation.

Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin’s Cabinet
S. No. Name Portfolio
1 MK Stalin Chief Minister, General administration, Indian Administrative Service, Indian Police Service, other All-India Service, District revenue officers, Police, Home, Special initiatives, Special programme implementation, Welfare of differently abled persons
2 Duraimurugan Minister for Water Resources
3 KN Nehru Minister for Municipal Administration
4 I Periyasamy Minister for Co-operation
5 K Ponmudi Minister for Higher Education
6 EV Velu Minister for Public Works (Buildings, Highways and Minor Ports)
7 MRK Panneerselvam Minister for Agriculture and Farmer’s Welfare, Agricultural Engineering, Agro Service Co-operatives, Horticulture, Sugarcane Excise, Sugarcane Development and Wasteland Development
8 KKSSR Ramachandran Minister for Revenue and Disaster Management Revenue, District Revenue Establishment, Deputy Collectors, Disaster Management
9 Thangam Thennarasu Minister for Industries, Tamil Official Language and Tamil Culture, Archaeology.
10 S Raghupathy Minister for Law, Courts, Prisons and Prevention of Corruption
11 S Muthusamy Minister for Housing and Urban Development, Rural Housing, Town Planning projects and Housing Development, Accommodation Control, Town Planning, Urban Development and Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority.
12 KR Periakaruppan Minister for Rural Development, Panchayats and Panchayat Unions, Poverty Alleviation Programmes, Rural Indebtedness.
13 TM Anbarasan Minister for Rural Industries including Anbarasan Rural industries, cottage industries, small industries, Slum Clearance Board
14 MP Saminathan Minister for Information & Publicity, Film Technology and Cinematograph Act, Newsprint Control, Stationery and Printing, Government Press
15 P Geetha Jeevan Minister for Social Welfare & Women Empowerment, Women and Children Welfare including Social Welfare, Orphanages and Correctional Administration, Integrated Child Development Scheme and Beggar Homes and Social Reforms and Nutritious Meal Programme
16 Anitha S Radhakrishnan Minister for Fisheries -Fishermen Welfare and Animal Husbandry Fisheries and Fisheries Development Corporation and Animal Husbandry
17 SR Rajakannappan Minister for Transport, Nationalised Transport and Motor Vehicles Act
18 K Ramchandran Minister for Forests
19 R Sakkarapani Minister for Food and Civil Supplies Food and Civil Supplies, Consumer Protection and Price Control
20 R Gandhi Minister for Handlooms and Textiles Handlooms and Textiles, Khadi and Village Industries Board, Boodhan and Gramadhan.
21 MA Subramanian Minister for Medical and Family Welfare Health, Medical Education and Family Welfare
22 P Moorthy Minister for Commercial Taxes and Registration Commercial Taxes, Registration and Stamp Act, Weights and Measures, Debt Relief including legislation on Money lending, Chits and Registration of Companies
23 SS Sivasankar Minister for Backward Classes Welfare, Most Backward Classes Welfare and De-notified Communities Welfare
24 PK Sekarbabu Minister for Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments
25 Palanivel Thiagarajan Minister for Finance and Human Resources Management Finance, Planning, Personnel and Administrative Reforms, Pensions and Pension allowances
26 SM Nasar Minister for Milk & Dairy Development
27 Ginjee KS Masthan Minister for Minorities Welfare and Non-Resident Tamils Welfare Refugees & Evacuees and Wakf Board
28 Anbil Mahesh Poyyamozhi Minister for School Education
29 Siva V Meyyanathan Minister for Environment and Climate Change, Youth Welfare and Sports Development
30 CV Ganesan Minister for Labour Welfare and Skill Development Labour Welfare, Population, Employment and Training, Census, Urban and Rural Employment
31 T Mano Thangaraj Minister for Information Technology
32 M Mathiventhan Minister for Tourism and Tourism Development Corporation
33 N Kayalvizhi Selvaraj Minister for Adi Dravidar Welfare, Hill Tribes and Bonded Labour Welfare
34 V Senthilbalaji Minister for Electricity, Non Electricity, Prohibition & Excise Conventional Energy Development, Prohibition and Excise

Who is MK Stalin?

DMK Chief MK Stalin, also the son of late M Karunanidhi, contested from the Kolathur constituency against Aadi Rajaram of AIADMK and J Arumugham of AMMK in the 2021 Tamil Nadu General Assembly Elections.

He has been representing this constituency since 2011. He started his political career after winning for the first time from Thousand Light constituency in 1989.

He has held the position of the Mayor of Chennai and the Deputy Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu during the reign of DMK from 2006 to 2011.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Related Stories

Post Comment

0 + 4 =