Dr. Tessy Thomas, Geeta Varadan jointly named for Nayudamma Award 2014

This is the first time in the history of the trust that two eminent women scientists are being concurrently honoured.

Feb 16, 2015 17:10 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Women scientists Dr. Tessy Thomas and Geeta Varadan on 15 February 2015 were jointly named for Dr. Y Nayudamma Memorial Award 2014. They have been chosen for the award for their outstanding performance in the field of science and technology.

Ramon Magsaysay award recipient Prof. Shanta Sinha will present the award to Dr. Tessy Thomas and Geeta Varadan at a special function to be held at Tenali in Guntur district of Andhra Pradesh on 1 March 2015.

This is the first time in the history of the trust that two eminent women scientists are being concurrently honoured.  The recipients will deliver the 23rd Dr. Y Nayudamma Memorial Lectures on the themes Make in India-Defence Needs and Initiatives and Remote Sensing Technology for National Needs respectively.

Dr. Tessy Thomas is the Drector, Advanced Systems Laboratory of the Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO), Hyderabad and Geeta Varadan is the Project Director (Mission) of Agni V, and Director, Advanced Data Processing Research Institute at ISRO.

World renowned astrophysics scientist and cosmologist Jayant Vishnu Narlikar was conferred with the Nayudamma Award 2013.

Previous winners of Nayudamma Award are Dr. Lalji Singh Dr. Rajendra Pawar, Dr. V Shanta, Dr. VK Saraswat, Dr. T Ramasami, Dr. A Sivathanu Pillai, Dr. Nori Dattatreyudu, Dr. Sam Pitroda, Dr. Kota Harinarayana, Dr. VK Atre, Dr. R Chidambaram, Dr. RA Mashelkar, Prof. JS Bajaj, Dr. K Kasturirangan, Dr. Verghese Kurien, Dr. SZ Qasim and Dr. MS Swaminathan.

About the Nayudamma Award

The award was established in 1986 in memory of distinguished chemical scientist, leather technologist and former Director-General of CSIR Yelavarthy Nayudamma. It is conferred annually on persons who have made important contributions to the development of science and technology in the country.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए