Durban to host XXII Commonwealth Games in 2022

While the XIX Games was held in Glasgow (the UK), the XX Games will be held in Gold Coast, Australia.

Created On: Sep 2, 2015 07:04 ISTModified On: Sep 7, 2015 11:14 IST

The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) General Assembly on 2 September 2015 selected South African city Durban as the host for the XXII Commonwealth Games.

With this, South Africa became the first country from Africa to host the games in its 85 years history.

The games are scheduled to start on 18 July 2022 to mark the birth anniversary of South African anti-apartheid revolutionary Nelson Mandela.

So far, South Africa successfully hosted the three biggest single-sport events— Rugby world cup (1995), the ICC ODI world cup (2003), and FIFA world cup (2010). Commonwealth games will be the first biggest multi-disciplinary event to be held in the country.

About Commonwealth Games

• It is a multi-disciplinary international sporting event that involves athletes from 71 nations and territories connected with the Commonwealth.
• It is held once every four years. It is often referred to as the Friendly Games.
• The General Assembly of the CGF is responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth Games. It is the highest authority of the Commonwealth Sports Movement.
• The first event was organised in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada.
• So far, Britain have hosted the Games six times, Australia and Canada four times each, New Zealand three times, and Jamaica, Malaysia and India (XIX games in 2010) once each.
• While the XX Games (in 2014) was held in Glasgow of the UK, the XXI Games will be held in Gold Coast, Australia in 2018.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 0 =