East Bengal wins 8th consecutive Calcutta Football League title

Sep 25, 2017 09:55 IST
East Bengal wins 8th consecutive Calcutta Football League title

East Bengal on 24 September 2017 registered a record-extending eighth consecutive Calcutta Football League (CFL) title.

The team held Mohun Bagan to a 2-2 draw in a thrilling match at the Kanchenjunga Stadium in Siliguri, West Bengal.

East Bengal have won all the CFL titles since 2010. They have a total of 39 CFL titles.

About East Bengal F.C.

East Bengal Football Club is a professional football club, based in Kolkata, West Bengal.

It currently competes in the I-League, the top tier of Indian football.

The club has won three National Football League (later named as I-league) titles, eight Federation Cups, and three Indian Super Cups, among others.

The club has a long-standing rivalry with the other major Kolkata club Mohun Bagan, with whom it competes in the renowned Kolkata derby.

CA eBook

About Calcutta Football League

Calcutta Football League is the football league system where several football clubs of the Indian city of Kolkata  participate.

It currently consists of seven-tier pyramid system.

The CFL is conducted by the Indian Football Association (IFA) with 157 mostly Kolkata based clubs and units.

Started in 1898, this league is regarded as one of the oldest football competitions in the world.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: East Bengal , East Bengal F.C. , Mohun Bagan , Calcutta Football League , CFL

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK