Eight Scientists Selected for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards 2013

Eight eminent scientists on 26 September 2013 selected for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for the year 2013.

Created On: Sep 27, 2013 10:07 ISTModified On: Sep 27, 2013 11:44 IST

Eight eminent scientists on 26 September 2013 selected for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for the year 2013. The awards were announced during the 71st Foundation day of CSIR on 26 September 2013 in New Delhi.
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award is country's top most award for excellence in Science and Technology.

The winners are

Biological Science
Dr Sathees Chukkurumbal Raghavan
Department of Biochemistry
Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

Chemical Sciences
Dr Yamuna Krishnan
National Centre for Biological Sciences
Engineering Sciences
Dr Bikramjit Basu                                                                          
Materials Research Centre                                                          
Indian Institute of Science (IISc)                                               
Dr Suman Chakraborty
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology (IITKgp) Kharagpur

Mathematical Sciences
Dr Eknath Prabhakar Ghate
School of Mathematical Sciences
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
Medical Sciences
Dr Pushkar Sharma
National Institute of Immunology (NII)
New Delhi
Physical Sciences
Dr Amol Dighe                                                                                
Department of Theoretical Physics                                        
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR)                  

Dr Vijay Balakrishna Shenoy
Department of Physics
Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Bangalore

The Shanti SwarupBhatnagar Award is the most coveted national recognition for young scientists and engineers for their R&D work done in India. The Award was instituted in 1957 in the honour of late Dr. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, an eminent scientist, founder Director and principal architect of CSIR.
The award carries a cash component of five lakh rupees. It is given annually to young scientists below the age of 45 who have made outstanding contributions in any field of science and technology.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

9 + 8 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all