EU extended sanctions on Russia in wake of MH-17 incident

Jul 26, 2014 13:51 IST

European Union on 25 July 2014 extended the sanctions on Russia in wake of the Malaysian Airplane MH-17 crash that happened over eastern Ukraine in third week of July 2014.

The sanctions were approved by the Committee of Permanent Representatives of the European Union (EU) at a meet in Brussels, Belgium.

The extended sanctions include names of 15 individuals and 18 companies from Russia and Ukraine. These names have been added to the existing list of 72 individuals and two companies against whom visa bans and asset freezes have been imposed.

The chief names among these include the head of the Russian Federal Security Service Alexander Bortnikov and Sergei Beseda, head of the FSB department that oversees international operations and intelligence activity. The names include four members of Russia's Security Council.

The imposition of sanctions on Russia started with the annexation of Crimea in eastern Ukraine by Russia in February 2014.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Is this article important for exams ? Yes35 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Crimea , European Union , Brussels , Russia , MH-17 , Eastern Ukraine

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK