Former Delhi Police Commissioner BS Bassi appointed UPSC member

An IPS officer of AGMUT cadre of 1977 batch, Bassi retired as Delhi Police Commissioner on 29 February 2016.

Created On: Jun 1, 2016 12:12 ISTModified On: Jun 1, 2016 12:39 IST

BSBASSI The President Pranab Mukherjee on 31 May 2016 appointed Bhim Sain Bassi, IPS (Retd) as a member of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

He will hold the constitutional post till February 2021, from the day when he enters the office.

About BS Bassi

• He is an officer of Indian Police Service of Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory (AGMUT) cadre of 1977 batch.

• During his career spanning over 38 years has held several important positions like Commissioner, Delhi Police, Special Commissioner (Traffic), Delhi Police, Special Commissioner (Vigilance), Delhi Police, Inspector General, Chandigarh police and DGP, Goa Police.

• He retired as Delhi Police chief on 29 February 2016.

• He began his police career as an Assistant Superintendent of Police in Pondicherry.

Constitutional provision

Appointment and term of office of UPSC members in defined under Article 316 of the Constitution of India.
Under the Constitution, a member of the UPSC can have a maximum tenure of six years or till he attains the age of 65 years.

Deepak Gupta is heading UPSC as its chairman. Other members include Alka Sirohi, David R Syiemlieh, Manbir Singh, former Navy Vice Chief DK Dewan, Vinay Mittal, Chhatar Singh, Prof Hem Chandra, Arvind Saxena and Prof Pradeep Kumar Joshi.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

9 + 5 =