Germany won men's Hockey Champions Trophy for the year 2014

Germany won the 2014 Champions Trophy of Hockey after defeating Pakistan by 2-0 margin at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

Created On: Dec 15, 2014 13:00 ISTModified On: Dec 15, 2014 13:15 IST

Germany on 14 December 2014 won Hockey’s Champions Trophy for the year 2014. In the final match played at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, Odisha, Olympic Champions Germany defeated Pakistan by 2-0 margin.

This was 10th Champions Trophy crown for Germany. It had last won the tournament in 2007.

This was the fifth Champions Trophy final played between Germany and Pakistan. Last time they had final clash in 1994, when Pakistan defeated Germany through penalty shoot-outs in Lahore, Pakistan.

Earlier for the third position and bronze medal, world champion Australia defeated India 2-1.

Till date India had won only a single medal in the Champions Trophy, it won a bronze in the 1982 edition in Amstelveen, the Netherlands. In 2012, India finished at fourth position in the tournament played in Melbourne, Australia.  

In other play-off match, the Netherlands defeated Argentina 4-1 for the fifth position while England defeated Belgium 3-2 for the seventh position.

Champions Trophy is an eight-nation tournament of Hockey.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 7 =