1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Golfer Anirban Lahiri voted Asian Tour’s 2014 Players’ Player of the Year

Jan 13, 2015 12:12 IST

Anirban Lahiri, an Indian professional golfer on 12 January 2015 was voted as the 2014 Players’ Player of the year in Asian Tour. He was voted for his successful exploits on the Asian Tour, wherein he won two titles and finished second on the Asian Tour Order of Merit.

His exploits on Asian Tour in 2014 included
• Won first title outside India in the form of CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters
• His second win of 2014 came at the Venetian Macau Open
• Stood second in the Asian Tour Order of Merit, which was won by David Lipsky of the United States
• He helped Team Asia to secure a dramatic 10-10 tie against Team Europe at the inaugural EurAsia Cup

Apart from him, Australia’s Cameron Smith was also named as the Rookie of the Year for a commendable season where he finished fifth on the Asian Tour Order of Merit. He claimed seven top-10 finishes including a tied fifth result at the CIMB Classic in Malaysia which was sanctioned by the PGA TOUR and Asian Tour.

About the Asian Tour
The Asian Tour, through its membership of the International Federation of PGA Tours, is the only recognised pan-Asian professional golf tour in Asia. It leads the development of golf across the region and it enhances careers of its members.

Its features position it at the pinnacle of professional gold in Asia and provide Official World Ranking status to its events.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes11 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK