1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Harish Rawat appointed 8th Chief Minister of Uttrakhand

Feb 3, 2014 15:30 IST

Harish Rawat was appointed as the 8th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on 1 February 2014. He was administered the oath of office by Governor Aziz Qureshi at Raj Bhawan.

He succeeded Vijay Bahuguna. Harish Rawat was a Union Minister for Water Resources.


imageRawat is a MP from Haridwar. He was made a Minister of State for Labour and Employment in 2009 and then MoS for Agriculture and Food Processing Industries.

In July 2011, he was made MoS for Parliamentary Affairs.

He was elevated to the rank of a Cabinet Minister in 2012 in an apparent bid to placate him after Bahuguna was made the CM. Rawat has earlier served as a member of the Rajya Sabha from 2002-08.

He won his first Lok Sabha election in 1980 from Almora by defeating BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi. He won the Lok Sabha polls in 1984 and 1989 as well.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes32 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Harish Rawat , Chief Minister of Uttarakhand

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK