Harivansh Narayan Singh elected as Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha

JDU’s Harivansh Narayan Singh was elected as the new deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha on August 9, 2018. Singh won the vote with 125 votes in favour and 105 against.

Created On: Aug 9, 2018 11:44 ISTModified On: Aug 9, 2018 12:14 IST
Harivansh Narayan Singh elected Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha

JDU’s Harivansh Narayan Singh was elected as the new deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha on August 9, 2018. The NDA candidate was pitted against BK Hari Prasad, the joint candidate of the Congress-led Opposition in the voice vote. Singh won the vote with 125 votes in favour and 105 against.

The post of the deputy chairman was lying vacant since June 2018 following the retirement of PJ Kurien, a Congress MP from Kerala.

Key Highlights

The NDA candidate, Harivansh Narayan Singh received support from Shiv Sena, Akali Dal, AIADMK, TRS, YSRCP, INLD, BJD, three nominated candidates and SP MP, Amar Singh.

While the opposition candidate – three-time MP BK Hari Prasad- received support from parties including Congress, TMC, DMK, Left parties, SP, BSP, NCP, TDP.

Both the candidates had filed their notices of motion for the post on the last day, on August 8.

Before the vote began, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen declared that his party's nine MPs would vote in favour of the NDA candidate.

Among others, two members of PDP, three members of APP, two MPs of YSR Congress abstained from voting.

Besides, DMK’s Kanimozhi who recently lost her father- DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi and one Congress leader could not make it for the vote.

The Numbers Game: How Opposition lost its golden chance!

The current strength of the Rajya Sabha is 244 and support of 123 members is needed for a win in the full House.

Though the BJP is the largest party in the House with 73 members, it did not have the number to win majority in the House.

Among BJP’s allies, the JDU has six MPs in the Rajya Sabha and the Shiv Sena and Akali Dal have three each.

Along with other smaller alliance partners and supportive Independents and nominated members, the BJP’s combined strength was claimed to be 95 MPs. • The Congress, which is the biggest opposition party with 50 MPs, claimed to have the combined strength of 111 in the Rajya Sabha.

Among the opposition parties, the TMC and the SP have 13 MPs each in the Rajya Sabha, the TDP has six members and the RJD and the CPI-M have five MPs each.

Besides, the BSP, the NCP and the DMK have 4 each while the AAP has three and the CPI and the PDP have two each.

However, in a blow to Congress, YSRCP, PDP and AAP decided to abstain from voting for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman elections.

About Harivansh Narayan Singh

The first-time MP, Singh is a veteran journalist representing Bihar.

Born on June 30, 1956 in Uttar Pradesh Balia in a middle class family, he is a post-graduate in Economics from Banaras Hindu University (BHU).

Singh also has PG Diploma in journalism from BHU. During his college days, Harivansh was influenced by the socialist leader Jayaprakash Narayan (JP). He participated actively in the JP Movement of 1974.

Following this, in 1977 Singh joined a renowned media group – The Times of India as a trainee journalist. Later, he moved to Mumbai to work in 'Dharmyug' magazine till 1981.

Following his stint with the magazine, Singh worked with Bank of India and then joined Amrit Bazar Patrika's magazine 'Ravivar' as an assistant editor.

He worked there till 1989 after which he was handed over the responsibility of Usha Martin group's struggling newspaper - Prabhat Khabar - in Ranchi.

Singh not only helped revive Prabhat Khabar but he also launched new editions of the Hindi daily in the states of Jharkhand, Bihar and West Bengal.

After serving as editor in the newspaper for over 25 years, Singh was nominated for Rajya Sabha in 2014 by the Nitish Kumar's JDU.


Read More Current Affairs

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Related Stories

Post Comment

0 + 6 =