1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

HRIDAY scheme for conservation of heritage characters of cities

Dec 23, 2014 12:00 IST

HRIDAY – National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana
The National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) was in news recently as Union Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu announced the plans to launch the scheme.

HRIDAY is a scheme for conserving and preserving the heritage characters of 12 cities. These are: Amritsar, Varanasi, Gaya, Puri, Ajmer, Mathura, Dwarka, Badami, Velankanni, Kanchipuram, Warangal (Telangana) and Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh).

The scheme aims at developing tourism and job creation because India’s rich cultural, historical, religious and natural heritages have a huge potential of tourism.

Earlier, in his maiden budget speech in July 2014, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had made the announcement of launching HRIDAY scheme.

As per the announcement, the scheme will involve a partnership between the government, academic institutions and local communities, combining affordable technologies.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes203 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK