India Beat England by Five Runs to Win ICC Champions Trophy 2013 at Birmingham

India clinched the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 on 23 June 2013 against England at Edgbaston in Birmingham with a five-run victory.

Created On: Jun 24, 2013 13:14 ISTModified On: Jun 26, 2013 12:24 IST

India clinched the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 on 23 June 2013 against England at Edgbaston in Birmingham with a five-run victory. Mahendra Singh Dhoni captained the Indian Side in the tournament, whereas, Alastair Cook captained the English team.

India made a total of 129 runs in 20 overs for seven wickets. It then restricted England to 124 for eight. Ravindra Jadeja was declared as the Man of the Match after he took two wickets and scored an unbeaten 33 runs. He was also awarded with the Golden Ball for grabbing 12 wickets (maximum) in the series.

Sikhar Dhawan was declared as the Man of the Series award for being the highest run-scorer (363 runs) of the tournament. This was the second Champions Trophy title of India. Earlier, it had won the title jointly with Sri Lanka in the year 2002.

About the ICC Champions Trophy
The ICC Champions Trophy is the One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament which is organised by International Cricket Council (ICC).
It is considered important event in cricket, only after the Cricket World Cup and is also known as Mini World Cup.
The ICC Champions Trophy was inaugurated in the year 1998 as ICC Knock out Tournament. It was later named as Champions Trophy in 2002.
Since the year 2009, the number of teams participating in the ICC Champions Trophy has remained eight. These are the eight highest-ranked ODI teams.

The ICC Champions Trophy 2013
•    The ICC Champions Trophy 2013 was held in England and Wales between 6 June 2013 and 23 June 2013.
•    Three cities in all hosted the matches, which were London (at The Oval), Birmingham (at Edgbaston) and Cardiff (at the SWALEC Stadium).
•    The winners of the tournament earned 2 million US dollar as the prize money. This is the largest amount since the beginning of the tournament.
•    The ICC Champions Trophy 2013 was the seventh and final ICC Champions Trophy. This will be replaced by ICC World Test Championship in 2017.
•    Eight teams participated in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 and these were- England, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Australia, India, South Africa, West Indies and Pakistan.
•    In the seventh edition of the tournament, Sri Lanka, India, England and South Africa were the four teams to make into the semi-finals.

Winners of the ICC Champions Trophy since 1998

Year of the Tournament


1998 ICC Knock Out tournament

South Africa

2000 ICC Knock Out tournament

New Zealand

2002 ICC Champions Trophy

India and Sri Lanka jointly

2004 ICC Champions Trophy

West Indies

2006 ICC Champions Trophy


2008 ICC Champions Trophy


2013 ICC Champions Trophy


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

9 + 7 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all