India defeated Pakistan to win Blind Cricket World Cup for the year 2014

Indian Blind Cricket team defeated Pakistan to win the fourth edition of the Blind Cricket World Cup (BCWC) in Cape Town, South Africa.

Created On: Dec 8, 2014 12:24 ISTModified On: Dec 8, 2014 12:43 IST

Indian Blind Cricket team on 7 December 2014 won the fourth edition of the Blind Cricket World Cup (BCWC) 2014 by defeating defending champions Pakistan. The captain of the Indian team was Shekar Naik.

In the final held at Wally Wilson Cricket Ground in Cape Town, South Africa, Pakistan batting first scored 389 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 40 over. Chasing a tough target, India managed to reach the target in 39.4 over, losing 5 wickets in the process

 In the semi-finals, Pakistan had defeated England, while India had ousted Sri Lanka.

The inaugural edition of the Blind Cricket World Cup played in 1998 was won by South Africa.
Pakistan won the title in 2002 before successfully defending it in 2006.

The participating countries in the fourth edition of Blind Cricket World Cup were Sri Lanka, Australia, Bangladesh, England and hosts South Africa.

Blind Cricket in India
The number of visually challenged cricketers in India is 22000, far more compared to the 4000 in Pakistan and only 200 in South Africa.

The Cricket Association for the Blind in India is run by the Samarthanam trust, a Bangalore-based NGO dedicated to the promotion of sports for the physically disadvantaged. Samarthanam’s Sports Wing also focuses on chess, volleyball, tennis, kabaddi, table tennis and athletics.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

7 + 8 =