1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

India to host 7th IBSA Summit in 2015

Jul 18, 2014 18:18 IST

7th India-Brazil-South Africa (IBSA) summit will be held in New Delhi, India in 2015. This was announced after Prime Minister Narendra Modi met South African President Jacob Juma on the sidelines of 6th BRICS Summit in Fortaleza, Brazil on 16 July 2014.

Apart from this, it was also agreed to hold India Africa Forum meet in New Delhi in December 2014.

About IBSA

IBSA is a trilateral initiative amongst three different societies of three different continents in India, Brazil and South Africa. It was formed with an aim to promote South-South cooperation and exchange of like-minded countries, committed to inclusive sustainable development. The group was formed on 6 June 2003 with the adoption of the Brasilia Declaration followed by a meet of foreign ministers of the three countries in Brasilia.

IBSA cooperates on three front. First, as a forum seeking reforms in global institutions of political and economic governance; second, trilateral collaboration through working groups and People-to-People Forums for the common benefit of three countries; and, third, assisting other developing countries by taking up projects through the IBSA Fund.

Previous IBSA Summits

2006: Brasilia, Brazil
2007: Tshwane, South Africa
2008: New Delhi, India
2010: Brasilia, Brazil
2011: Tshwane, South Africa
2013: New Delhi, India

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Quick Digest

Who: 7th IBSA Summit

Where: New Delhi

What: To be held

When: 2015

Is this article important for exams ? Yes217 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK