India won Border Gavaskar Trophy 2013 against Australia by 4-0

India defeated Australia by 6 wickets to win the Border Gavaskar Trophy, 4-0. Pujara and Jadeja turned up to be the hero of the final match.

Created On: Mar 24, 2013 16:28 ISTModified On: Mar 25, 2013 18:28 IST

Alan Border SeriesIndia on 24 March 2013 won the fourth and the final test with 6 wickets remaining against Australia in the Alan Border Series – Australia Tour to India, at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi. India won the series 4-0.

In the second innings of the final match, Cheteswar Pujara scored an unbeaten 82 runs while chasing the 155 run target set by team Australia on the third day of the match.  Before this Jadeja’s 5 wicket haul for 58 runs in 16 over limited Australia to a lead score of 155 runs. R Ashwin, P Ojha took 2 wickets each and Ishant Sharma booked the last wicket of Pattinson to seal the second innings of Australia at 155 runs.

Man of the Match: Ravindra Jadeja for his all-round performance
Man of the Series: Ravichandran Ashwin for claiming 29 wickets in the four-Test Series

Series Report

1st Test: 22-26 February 2013 - India vs Australia at Chennai - Australia 380 and 241; India 572 and 50/2. India won the match by 8 wickets remaining.

2nd Test: 2-5 March 2013 - India vs Australia at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Australia declared its innings 237 at the fall of 9 wickets and 131; India 503. India won by an innings and 135 runs.

3rd Test: 14-18 March, 2013 - India vs Australia at Mohali - Australia 408 and 223; India 499 and 136/4. India won the match by 6 wickets.

4th Test: 22-24 March 2013 - India v Australia at Delhi - Australia 262 and 164; India 272 and 158/4. India won the match by 6 wickets.

Some Records of the Series

• Prgyan Ojha, the left arm spinner from India completed his haul of 100 wickets in Test Cricket on second day of fourth test against Australia and became the third fastest Indian to achieve the milestone. Ojha reached the milestone, in 22nd test and is placed in the list after Erapalli Prasanna (who did this in 20 test matches) and Anil Kumble (who achieved the sport in 21 test matches)
• Off-Spinner from India, R Ashwin became the leading wicket-taker for India in a series of four test matches; he finished with 29 wickets in this series. To make this record Ashwin surpassed the former Indian Captain Anil Kumble, who took 27 wickets in a series of four test matches.
• India never in the 81 year test history won more than two matches against Australia in a single series, but with this clean sweep – India secured wrote a new history in test cricket
• Shikhar Dhawan slammed fastest hundred by a debutant in test cricket, by scoring a century in 85 balls

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Related Stories

Post Comment

1 + 2 =