India won Sultan of Johor Cup Under-21 Hockey title

India retained its Sultan of Johor Cup Under-21 Hockey title by defeating Great Britain, 2-1.

Created On: Oct 20, 2014 10:10 ISTModified On: Oct 20, 2014 14:27 IST

India on 19 October 2014 successfully defended its Sultan of Johor Cup (SOJC) Under-21 Hockey title at Taman Daya Hockey Stadium, Johor Bohru, Malaysia. In the finals, Indian team defeated Great Britain, 2-1.

Harmanpreet Singh converted two penalty corners for India, while for Great Britain; Samuel French was the lone goal scorer.

With this win, India became the first team to win the title twice since the inception of the tournament in 2011. India won its first title in 2013.

Other results
• Australia defeated New Zealand, 6-2 to take the third place
• Malaysia defeated Pakistan, 3-1 to secure the fifth position

In 2011, the inaugural title was won by Malaysia, while Germany won the 2012 title.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 7 =