1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Irishman Rory McIlroy won British Golf Open 2014

Jul 21, 2014 13:28 IST

Irishman Rory McIlroy won the British Golf Open Championship 2014 held at Royal Liverpool Golf course in Holyake, United Kingdom on 20 July 2014.

Spain's Sergio Garcia (L) and US golfer Rickie Fowler finished two strokes behind McIlory to finish at second position.

The 25-year-old McIlory from Northern Ireland won the championship with a 17-under 271. With this McIlroy joined golfers Tiger Woods and Jack Nicklaus to win three of the four majors in golf that complete the Grand Slam, by the time they reached 25.

He also became the first European to have won three Majors.

Rory McIlory has so far not won the US Masters Tournament, the only Major that eludes him in completing a Career Grand Slam. The Majors won by him are: US Open in 2011, USPGA Championship in 2012 and the British Open in 2014.

The modern Majors (or golf championship) that makes Career Grand Slam

US Masters Tournament hosted as an invitational by and played at Augusta National Golf Club

U.S. Open hosted by the USGA and played at various locations in the USA

The British Open hosted by The R&A and always played on a links course at various locations in the UK

PGA Championship (USPGA) hosted by the Professional Golfers' Association of America and played at various locations in the USA

Only five golfers have won all four of golf's modern Majors at any time during their careers, an achievement which is often referred to as a Career Grand Slam.
These golfers are: Gene Sarazen (USA), Ben Hogan (USA), Gary Player (South Africa), Jack Nicklaus (USA), and Tiger Woods (USA). Woods and Nicklaus not only have a Career Grand Slam, they have won each of the four Majors three times.

About Men's Grand Slam

The Grand Slam in professional golf is winning all of golf's major championships in the same calendar year. Bobby Jones of USA was the only golfer to have won Grand Slam in golf. The term Grand Slam, in fact, was first applied to him in 1930. In 1930 he won four major golf events. These were: The Open Championship, the U.S. Open, the U.S. Amateur and The Amateur Championship.

Till the founding of The Masters in 1934 (that started modern Majors) the national amateur championships of the US and the UK were considered majors along with the two national opens.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group


Is this article important for exams ? Yes22 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK