Article 370 and 35 (A) scrapped: What will change in Jammu & Kashmir?

The government revoked Articles 370 and 35 (A) yesterday. Also, proposed the bifurcation of the state into two union territories Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.

Aug 6, 2019 09:17 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Government of India revoked Article 370 and the special status of Kashmir today. Union Home Minister Amit Shah announced government’s decision in the Rajya Sabha. Now Jammu & Kashmir will be a Union Territory with a legislature while Ladakh will be a Union Territory without legislature. To understand the entire scenario let’s see 5 key decisions taken by the government today.

Article 370 removed

Union Home Minister Amit Shah has announced in Rajya Sabha that the government has decided to repeal Article 370 of the Constitution which grants special status to Jammu and Kashmir. Now, Jammu and Kashmir will not be a state it will a Union Territory now. Special features like a separate constitution, separate flag and separate status will no more after repealing Article 370.

Article 35A scrapped

With the removal of Article 370, Article 35A will be also scrapped. Now, people from other states may also buy or purchase land and settle there.

Also Read | Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh to be separate Union Territories; Article 370 scrapped

Bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir

As per the statement released by Home Minister Amit Shah, Jammu and Kashmir will be "reorganized" and will no longer be a state. Ladakh will be a Union Territory without an assembly and Jammu and Kashmir will be a Union Territory with an assembly, under recommendation. There will be two Lieutenant Governors when this provision will come into the force.

J&K becomes UT

Jammu & Kashmir has become a Union Territory now and union laws would apply in this area. According to the notification released by government of India, “Keeping in view the prevailing internal security situation, fuelled by cross-border terrorism in the existing state of Jammu & Kashmir, a separate Union Territory is being created.”

Ladakh becomes UT

The Ladakh region has given the status of a Union Territory (UT), without legislature. "The Ladakh division has a large area but is sparsely populated with very difficult terrain. There has been a long-pending demand of people of Ladakh to give it a Union Territory status to enable them to realise their aspiration", said a notification released by Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

Key Changes



Jammu & Kashmir was a state with special status.

Now Jammu & Kashmir will be a Union Territory.

Only citizens of Jammu and Kashmir were allowed to buy land in the state.

People from anywhere in India will be able to buy a property.

No ‘outsider’ could settle in the state.

Now any citizen of the country can settle in J&K.

RTI could not be filed

No restriction on filing RTI

Period of Legislative assembly was 6 years.

Now, it will not be for six years.

Jammu & Kashmir had a separate flag.

Only the National Flag will be there.

J&K had a separate constitution.

No separate constitution, law & order will be under center government.

Ladakh was a part of Jammu & Kashmir

Ladakh will be a separate Union Territory without a legislature.

The constitutional head was Governor

Now, state head will be Lieutenant Governor.


Also Read | Article 35A Scrapped: What is it and why it has been controversial? – Explained Here

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए