1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

Jharkhand Assembly Election 2014 results declared

Dec 24, 2014 12:12 IST

Election Commission of India (ECI) on 23 December 2014 declared the results of Assembly elections of Jharkhand. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with 37 seats emerged as the largest party in the house of 81 seats.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) with 19 seats stood at the second position.

Position of different parties in Jharkhand Assembly polls



Vote Share in percent

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)


1.8 percent

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)


31.3 percent

Indian National Congress (INC)


10.5 percent

AJSU Party


3.7 percent

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)


20.4 percent

Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik)


10.0 percent

Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) CPI(ML)(L)


1.5 percent

Jai Bharat Samanta Party



Jharkhand Party



Marxist Co-Ordination



Navjawan Sangharsh Morcha






BJP fought the election in combination with All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU), as a result garnering 42 seats out of 81 seats. It is all set to form the government in the state. In the election, BJP contested on 72 seats while its alliance partner AJSU contested on 8 seats (won 5 seats).

The main part of the declared results was that several stalwarts including former Chief Ministers lost the elections.  
• Chief Minister Hemant Soren (leader of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha) who won the Barhait constituency lost in Dumka
• CM candidate Arjun Munda lost in Kharsawan
• BJP's alliance partner AJSU’s chief and former deputy chief minister Sudesh Mahto lost from his home turf Silli
• Jharkhand's first Chief Minister Babulal Marandi (Chief of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha) lost from Giridih as well as Dhanwar
• Former CM Madhu Koda (chief of Jai Bharat Samanta Party) lost the Majhgaon seat

The elections were held in five phases starting from 25 November to 20 December 2014. Of 81 seats 37 seats were reserved for SC and ST candidates (28 seats for STs and 9 seats for SCs).

The Election Commission of India held the elections in lieu of expiry of the Legislative Assemblies of Jharkhand, which was supposed to expire on 3 January 2015. The Election Commission of India conducted the elections in the state under the power, duties and functions assigned to it under Article 324 read with Article 172(1) of the Constitution of India and Section 15 of Representation of the People Act, 1951.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes12 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK