Jitan Ram Manjhi took oath as the Chief Minister of Bihar

Jitan Ram Manjhi sowrn-in as the new Chief Minister of Bihar.  Governor DY Patil administered his oath of the office and secrecy.

Created On: May 21, 2014 10:10 ISTModified On: May 21, 2014 15:14 IST

Jitan Ram ManjhiJitan Ram Manjhi was sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Bihar on 20 May 2014. His oath of the office and secrecy was administered by the Governor of Bihar, DY Patil at the Raj Bhavan in Patna.

He succeeded Janata Dal – United (JD-U) leader, Nitish Kumar who resigned from the post of Chief Minister on 17 May 2014 after the debacle of the party in the 16th Lok Sabha election. Nitish Kumar served as Chief Minister of Bihar for two term from 2005 - 2009 and from 2009 - 2014.

Apart from Manjhi, Governor Patil also administered oath to 17 other ministers including two independents. Of these 17 ministers, 15 ministers of the Nitish Kumar government have retained their place in the newly formed Jitan Ram Manjhi ministry and two new MLAs have been inducted. The newly inducted MLAs are Dular Chandra Goswami and Vinay Bihari.

The newly formed government will seek a vote of confidence on 23 May 2014.

About Jitan Ram Manjhi

• Manjhi is a native of Mahkar village of Gaya district and is the third Dalit Bihar Chief Minister after Bhola Paswan Shastri and Ram Sundar Das.
• In the Nitish Kumar led Cabinet, Manjhi was SC’ST welfare minister
• He is a legislator from the Makhdoompur assembly constituency in Jehanabad district

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 1 =